I’m Going To Ask These 5 Questions In My Next Software Dev Job Interview

Do I Like You?

The Secret Developer
3 min readJul 11, 2023
Photo by Amy Hirschi on Unsplash

I need to be honest. I’m leaving my current position because I hate it. I hate the legacy code I’m working on, and I hate the attitude of my colleagues. I don’t enjoy what I’m doing and dislike the culture.

As a result, I’m thinking about how can I avoid working a similar job in the future. My simple solution is to ask the following five questions as early as possible during the interview process.

Some might say we shouldn’t even ask questions in interviews. I say this: you’re right. Hide who you are, particularly if you are a jerk

Can I see your coding standards documentation?

This whole article isn’t a joke, it’s not a parody. That doesn’t mean that it is lacking humor, however. Like when you ask to see a company's coding standards documentation and see your interviewer’s face fall.

A good company with high coding standards will be able to send you a copy of this documentation (it might even be publicly available). You might even ask follow-up questions about how the style guide is enforced in the team.

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.