My Colleagues Are Right. We Should Keep Cameras Off

Probably the First Time My Colleagues Are Right

The Secret Developer
3 min readAug 22, 2023
Photo by Rohan G on Unsplash

There has been a running battle at my employer over the last few years. I think we can now announce that the results are in. After all of this time, my employer is right and the vast majority of employees are wrong.

This is different from usual. Usually both the employers and employees are wrong.

Post-Covid Hybrid Rules

My particular employer decided that after the pandemic workers could WFH in a hybrid way.

They didn’t spend any money giving us monitors, chairs, or equipment to facilitate the transition.

Despite the type of complaints, The Secret Developer has mentioned, we’ve had an interesting time mixing face-to-face and online working.

If my interesting, you mean disastrous.

Segregated Mixer events

I’ve seen our discouraging attitudes practically bring down events.

Let me run you through this. We have a large number of offshore resources (🤢) that we wanted to feel…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.