The Best ‘Jerk’ in Software Engineering I Ever Knew

Be a Jerk Too! Simply Use This Advice!

The Secret Developer
3 min readOct 9, 2023
Photo by Samuel Regan-Asante on Unsplash

I’ve argued that software developers should be personable and should work with others to get the best outcomes for the team.

“You know what?

I remember a jerk at work who did JUST FINE.

Let me tell you my experience and why ‘it depends’ rings true for your personality at work, as much as for your coding decisions.”

Communication is key

“I know that readers of this blog will be keen to chime in and tell me that I’m the jerk. Although that may be at times true (and those that trawl through the comments section will find plenty of evidence for this) I should explain that I’m very friendly at work.

However, when things start going wrong (as they have recently) it is true that I communicate less. Part of the reason for this is that I have no idea how…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.