WFH Handcuffs, Software Devs Beware!

Developers Take Note

The Secret Developer
3 min readJan 4, 2024
Photo by niu niu on Unsplash

A job can become a set of golden handcuffs for an employee. In the case of The Secret Developer, we are seeing someone who seems to hate their job but just isn’t leaving it.

They’re suffering from a case of the WFH handcuffs.

The WFH handcuffs

“I’ve spoken to some of my colleagues about the work that they’re doing and it’s like we are all the same.

‘I think nobody else is doing their work properly. But there isn’t really anything I can do since I’ve got to work with them’

It has occurred to me that they can’t all be correct.

Then I got into a real discussion with one of my colleagues. They’ve got golden handcuffs on.”

The WFH handcuffs

“I’ve had a few heart-to-hearts with my colleagues over the years.

However, those with my current colleagues are few and far between…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.