Why Stack Overflow Is Terrible for Software Developers but Necessary

Downvote This!

The Secret Developer
3 min readMar 13, 2023
Photo by Robert Anasch on Unsplash

I haven’t thought about Stack Overflow for some time. I’m not interested in getting a score to show my superiority in coding.

I save my awesome coding for when I’m paid

Even I can see it has benefits. It helps people share knowledge, yet we need to understand that Stack Overflow can actually cause damage to those using it and the industry as a whole.

Let’s take a look

Background to the site

SO sold in 2021 for $1.8 billion and for those keeping an eye on such things counts as a big deal. Professional programmers? They seem to be shying completely away from the site.

So who is the Q and A website for?

Some are pushing for a new SO overflow altogether as it doesn’t meet their needs. So what is the problem?

Issues

Stack Overflow discourages less experienced developers

For some time juniors have been using multiple accounts in order to keep using the Q & A site. This is because you can be downvoted to such an extent that you are no longer allowed to ask…

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.