You’re a Development Resource. 5 Ways My Employer Kills My Soul

All real, all true.

The Secret Developer
3 min readAug 20, 2023
Photo by Colin Watts on Unsplash

My employer isn’t the best. They don’t seem to understand that their workers are humans too. What’s worse The Secret Developer gets told something once and then holds onto it for the rest of their lives. Bringing it out in a pique of resentment and bitterness at every opportunity.

It’s unhealthy, and writing an article out of spite for the little things you’ve been told over the years with an employer isn’t a good way of living your life. Most software developers would leave a position rather than constantly moan about it.

That’s not the way I roll

The path to resentment

What has led me to list the little things that annoy me? My current workplace said the following to me.

Out of bitterness I’ve written them down and listed them here

The top 5 ways

1. Development Resource

The situation: When you’re on holiday the scrum master will ask what we will do when we are missing a “development resource”.

The implication: We are interchangeable parts. Get sick and we will need to get another part to fill the gap

--

--

The Secret Developer

A top software developer who has worked for some of the biggest tech companies (yes, that one too) reveals the stories behind Big Tech and software engineering.