Comparing Google bard(Experiment) and chatGPT free version

Tslgayatri
2 min readOct 15, 2023

--

This is my first mini article about the Google bard(Experiment) and chatgpt free version. I have been using both alternatively for different reasons. best way to check if we understood something is to explain to a 5 year old .so I took it a step forward and explained to my 4year old

I decided to draft this article in a very simpler way to get the key differences both from a user perspective. My persona here is fixed , mother explaining answers using the responses from Bard and chatGPT.

Accepting Image and Voice prompts

Google Bard (Experiment)

It supports Image prompts. For example you can upload pictures and ask google bard to caption them. Or you can give simple prompts like “Show me a picture of a cat”

ChatGPT(3.5)

It is only a text conversational bot , and hence does not support any voice or image prompts.

Access to Latest data

Google bard

Google Bard has access to the latest data, it is integrated with Google search hence it can access the most up to date information.

ChatGPT(3.5)

ChatGPT is trained with data till September 2021.

Document creation

Google bard

Few prompts in bard help to create documents, which can directly be exported in Google sheets. Prompt used “ help me create a healthy checklist document which I can export to sheets”

chatGPT(free version)

It provides response ,which we can copy paste to any document.

User Experience

Google Bard (Experiment)

Bard is visually compelling ,with varieties of options such as Modifying the responses, multiple drafts etc.

ChatGPT(3.5)

Visual experience is okay. It also allows us to regenerate responses.

What I would like to see in both in the coming few days, as both are improving

  1. Faster response
  2. Providing sources link(Google bard does for few prompts, but not for all the draft responses)
  3. More videos for educational related rather than responses, as it is easier for kids to grasp(I can go to Youtube directly, but I do get lot of other related videos, one might argue that I can use Youtube kids or subscribe channels, Again I want to use one platform for all my use cases :) )

Will compare Google Bard and Bing Chat in my next article. :)

--

--