Startup Grind Princeton Report for 18 June 2024

Tim Spann
6 min readJun 19, 2024

--

Milvus, Gen AI, Open Source, Community, AI, Startups, Unstructure Data, Vector Databases

23 Orchard Startup Accelerator

Last night at 23 Orchard, we had a great turnout for our joint event. To the people who liked and took stickers, yes that’s Generative AI generated stickers (except for my cats, those are free range born outside of the Matrix- cats I found in the street).

Here are my slides:

Phrases of Note During Discussions

  • Billion-Scale Storage
  • Will AI be everywhere in my life? I asked if Internet was? Then Yes.
  • What will people do?
  • What can’t AI and Robots do?
  • Everyone needs to understand the basics of AI for the good of humanity

Here are David’s slides:

Here are Mehul’s slides:

I will be posting a video as soon as the TV crew from https://www.yourtowntube.com/ posts it. They have some really cool AI and Community content coming soon including a Startup Grind Princeton and Trenton Channel.

There were a lot of great attendees and a good discussion after David, Mehul and I did our short community, AI, Unstructured Data and Vector Database talks.

It was great to see Bill Reynolds from Qarbine and discuss future meetups where he’ll show the very interesting SQL query tool for Milvus!!?!?!?! Amit from Yoda Tech had some great questions and points about the future of jobs in a post GenAI world. I am hoping all of the conversations were captured in the recording.

My friends and community AI people, if you enjoyed the talks, people and pizza please give me a start in Github. It let’s us know that our efforts in the open source are acknowledged and worth many people’s great efforts. With all the push to go closed source, we have to keep moving forward as a global community of software developers and users. We cannot exist without each others. Thanks!

A huge thanks to David from Startup Grind Princeton and Mehul from Infinity Services Inc, without whom we could not have made this event happen.

And a big thanks to The Orchard for hosting our meetup and having a great facility and coworking space.

UPCOMING EVENTS

June 20 and July 25. With more to come in late July and at least three in August.

RESOURCES

Hi Unstructured Data Friends! I hope this article had all the unstructured data processing, AI and Vector Database demo you needed for now. If not, there’s a ton more linked below.

My source code is available here:

Let me know in the comments if you liked what you saw, how I can improve and what should I show next? Thanks, hope to see you soon at a Meetup in Princeton, Philadelphia, New York City or on Youtube.

Get Milvused!

Read my Newsletter every week!

For more cool Unstructured Data, AI and Vector Database videos check out the Milvus vector database videos here:

https://www.linkedin.com/company/zilliz/

https://www.linkedin.com/in/timothyspann/

https://milvusio.medium.com

--

--

Tim Spann

Principal Developer Advocate, Zilliz. Milvus, Attu, Towhee, GenAI, Big Data, IoT, Deep Learning, Streaming, Machine Learning. https://www.datainmotion.dev/