Summer AI Camp in Times Square 20 June 2024 Report

Tim Spann
5 min readJun 21, 2024

--

Milvus, Unstructured Data, Vector Database, AI, GenAI, ML, Deep Learning, Python, Kubernetes, Milvus-Lite, Jupyter Notebooks, Images

What I thought the meetup would be like
What is really was

Nature was against us on this day, as all the NJ Transit trains were heavily delayed or stopped due to overhead Amtrak rail issues. This is most likely due to the 90+F temperatures heating up everything. So I drove to Manhattan and that was a two hour delay due to a marsh fire next to the highway. Despite traffic and the painful price of parking in Manhattan, I was able to make it to Times Square with time to spare and get a quick bite to eat before my talk. I did not have time to see Elmo though.

View from my stopped Kia Soul

I did have time to have a snack and view.

It was really hot in NYC, so I wasn’t on my soap box for long

Considering the weather, large number of people in Times Square for Summer Solstice and NJ Transit problems we had a good turn out. The AI Camp New York City community is awesome! They always come ready to learn and have questiosn. If you are not a member of AI Camp, there are branches all around the world. I suggest joining or forming a new one by you. Great community!

Across the street from major transit stops, it’s easy to get to Microsoft Reactor’s location in Times Square.

We uploaded some cats for a demo that you can run for free anywhere in the world.

I uploaded this “cat”

Before the sessions, there was networking, but also “food”.

At least it was a meal with a view.

We also showed my results from the Raspberry Pi 5 + AI Kit demo searching the data in Milvus.

I want to thank Bill Liu from AI Camp, Microsoft for hosting, George Portillo (ChainFuse), Jayeeta Putatunda (Fitch Ratings). I want to especially thank the AI Camp NYC organizing team Chuxin Liu, Ph.D Subroto Mukherjee Javier Schussler and many volunteers for handling such large logistics on such a day. The event was well run and a great set of talks on LLM and Unstructured Data. I can’t wait for next month (hopefully a little cooler and a less hectic commute). A big thank you to Zilliz for supercharging Milvus and letting me help the community.

I have attached a raw video that I took from my phone which is not great. I also edited it a little adding the slides, that video is probably a little better to watch.

Raw Video Feed

Edited with Slides Added

Slides

Time to head back to where solar cells, UNIX, C, the transistor and much more were developer by Bell Labs despite the alien invasion of 1938 and being surrounded by farms.

It was so hot, I started seeing things.

RESOURCES

Drop us a star please!

After long day of meetups

--

--

Tim Spann

Principal Developer Advocate, Zilliz. Milvus, Attu, Towhee, GenAI, Big Data, IoT, Deep Learning, Streaming, Machine Learning. https://www.datainmotion.dev/