Mugen ‘

Sylv.✝
2 min readDec 9, 2014

When you are so hungry and don’t know what to eat, you’d start walking around and hope you’d find something new & interesting. So last night, my sister and I ran into this hidden ramen & Japas bar, Mensousai Mugen in a small laneway of Bligh Place in CBD.

At first we couldn’t find it because the upstair, or the ‘ground’ floor only have few seats at bar table. And as I looked down, there was a basement with more seats. The owner Yoshi Kurosawa welcomed us and was serving us down at the basement. My sister decided to get his own brew, Saison Japan, and was chatting with him about Japan while I was still looking at the menu and taking photos.

Chicken nanban.

We first got the Chicken Nanban, very tender. But I love the mayo the best — it’s got visible eggs in it!! And both of us got the same, Wafu Tsukemen. I’ve never tried these noodles with dipping sauce which was interesting. Bit salty for my liking, but, you can seriously taste the katsuobushi in the sauce. Once finished with the noodles, a small pot of dashi was to be added to make it into soup (couldn’t finish it, still strong & salty despite of dashi added).

Wafu tsukemen.

The decor’s very nice, really great environment for a drink or two after work. And before we left, we overheard the table next to us was having the pipi-sake mushi… Maybe next time we shall order that one ☺

--

--