I Really Miss the NAMM Show

Tony Thomas
1 min readJan 29, 2024
Photo by Tom Caillarec on Unsplash

The 2024 NAMM show ended yesterday. I haven’t attended the NAMM show since the late 1980s. The National Association of Music Merchants (NAMM) comprises musical instrument audio product manufacturers, major retailers, and online merchants.

If you lived in Southern California (as I did back in the 80s), the annual winter show was a “must-go” experience, even if you had to pull some strings to get the coveted pass. Fortunately, I was a journalist back then and my name appeared in the masthead of publications such as Mix and Electronic Musician. Additionally, I also worked for a few major MI companies.

I always loved going to the show. Not only did I get to see new products from industry giants such as Roland, Yamaha, Korg, etc., but I also got to hang out with legends like Bob Moog (RIP) and Roger Linn. I also got to listen to top clinicians and musicians playing the latest gear.

Fortunately, if you cannot attend NAMM in person, there are plenty of videos on YouTube and web round-ups to enable you to get the latest information.

If you are are music creator or music lover, NAMM is heavenly!

--

--

Tony Thomas

Writer. Author. Music Producer. Technologist. Former contributor to Mix, Electronic Musician, Recording, Cleveland SCENE. Nearly five decades as a pro writer.