You Bought a What?

Tom Miller
2 min readJul 25, 2016

--

I’ve never been one to stand on the sidelines and watch. Whenever possible, I find a way to get involved. That’s why, earlier this summer , I decided to buy a thoroughbred racehorse! Well I didn’t buy the entire horse. I bought a more affordable 3% share. Fortunately for me this is all you need to be an official racehorse owner with official racehorse owner perks! Let me start from the beginning…

I’ve always enjoyed spending time at the Saratoga Race Course. Ever since I was a small child I remember going with my parents and siblings. I specifically recall standing next to the rail as the field would thunder by, helping Mom and Dad handicap the next race, or chasing down jockeys for their autographs. I never got too involved in the gambling aspect of horse racing but instead enjoyed the excitement and atmosphere of the track.

To be perfectly honest, I don’t remember exactly what started the whole thought process of buying a racehorse. I think the photographer in me was always thinking about gaining access to restricted areas for better photographic opportunities. I’ve always wanted to shoot a photo essay on all the facets of horse racing (the good, the bad, and the ugly) and I knew this would provide me that privilege. So as not to bore you with anymore details, and to make a long story not so long, I decided that the access, the owner perks, and just the sheer excitement of being a racehorse owner were all worth it.

Up next: The Nitty-Gritty on Buying a Racehorse

--

--