How did I build an API with DDD ? — Part 1

tuananhhedspibk
6 min readNov 16, 2023

DDD has been and is still a popular design trend in large and highly professional systems at the present time.

However, understanding the “academic” definitions of DDD is very time-consuming and to support programmers in general as well as those who are intending to learn about DDD in particular, so the can in a short time of “absorbing” the “academic” knowledge of DDD, I would like to present to readers very basic knowledge as well as illustrative examples through this series of articles on DDD. I look forward to well received by readers.

Overview about the API

I built this API with the main purpose to practice more about DDD so I won’t focus too much on complex functions. Basically my API can be described using a usecase diagram as follows:

This is basically an API that allows users to:

- Create a post with an attached photo (just like instagram)

- Comment / Like the post

- Follow / Unfollow other users

You guys can refer to my source code at: https://github.com/tuananhhedspibk/NewAnigram-BE-DDD

In this API, the two main technologies I used are:

- NestJS framework

--

--

tuananhhedspibk

Senior Software Engineer. Like building a system from scratch. Currently, have interested in System Design. DDD / Javascript / Typescript / React