Judgment of Your Own Work Ethic —175

Tucker K Sullivan
3 min readMay 5, 2024

--

Round and Round the Castle, 1883, oldbookillustrations.com

I’m dragging my feet along my road to riches, complaining the entire way on my way to success.

I shouldn’t be doing that. Instead I should be fully understanding the importance of the slog, the long string of difficult days. I should be appreciating how important the difficulties are. I should tell myself it builds character.

So what if I’m working on what no one else would consider work?

Maybe I’ll be the best at exactly what you don’t care about. Maybe that is a vital function of society.

We can’t all think the same things are worth doing, because then we would all do those and we would ignore the rest. We can’t have that, so I’ll just do what I want to do regardless of what anyone says.

I still might drag my feet, but I can officially say that’s only because I’m tired.

I deserve to drag my feet. I don’t need anyone over my shoulder, giving me a hard time about my shoes getting scuffed, telling me I’m going too slow.

— 175 Words.

This piece is part of a project I am calling One More Word, where I am increasing my wordcount by one, every single day, for five hundred days. So far, this is Day 175.

I’m not sure what this one was inspired by, but is about being discouraged.

I’m not particularly discouraged right now, at least not to an extent that would force me to write about it.

It is more about hard work despite being discouraged.

This daily blog is helping me stay in a rhythm with my writing. While I haven’t written anything brilliant, I have been able to be consistent. I think consistency matters a great deal here. Of course, everyone deserves a lucky break, but not everyone gets one. I just want to be well prepared for whatever happens next in life, an I want my writing to improve along those lines.

This daily blog gives me something to write on days when I otherwise wouldn’t have wanted to. I have to force myself just a little bit sometimes, but I’m always glad I did.

I don’t know what will come of this long strange work I’m doing, posting writing on the internet, asking people to buy my books.

I don’t know what will happen along this path, but I know it is the way I wish to go.

This is day 175 of 500. Increasing my wordcount by one, every single day, for 500 days. I’m calling this project, One More Word.

Today was yet another poem about hard work and perseverance.

I don’t want to exclusively write mental health stuff, but that is honestly what comes out of me the most.

Thank you to everyone showing support so far, it is keeping me going. Please follow/subscribe if you would like to read a thought provoking ramble once a day. :)

If you like my writing please follow my social media, Instagram, TikTok, @tuckerksullivan, check out my website www.tuckersullivan.com and consider buying my first book Relate! One Human to Another, which is available anywhere books are sold. Thank you again, for being here.

--

--

Tucker K Sullivan

Hi, I'm a writer/poet. I post daily! Mental health, resilience, and the human condition. My first book Relate! is on my website www.tuckersullivan.com