Marketing app CHECKLIST

Tung Dao
3 min readOct 26, 2016

--

This marketing app checklist will save you tons of time.

“Good wine needs no bush” — I have heard many developers said that. They believe that if their apps are good enough — in term of usability and values they bring to users — apps will get popular without any need for marketing.

Until apps are published for some months, the number of installations increases mildly then stops and their apps dive in the bottom of stores, they realize importance of app marketing.

They researched and found that they did many things wrong, such as: using keywords that no one ever search for or writing app description with completely no keywords. They realized they could have created a video of their apps and put it on Youtube, got tens of 5-stars review as seeding, or applied to Startup programs by Facebook or Google to get many supporting resources. They realized that the first few weeks is critical time, as Google/Apple stores prioritize new apps on their TOP listing (under certain circumstances).

Now their apps are deep in the list, they wish they had done some marketing of their apps before. They realized that Marketing app is important, but they don’t know how to do it.

Here is a handy Marketing app checklist in case you want to be different from them.

WITHOUT MARKETING FEE, YOU CAN DO THESE:

1- My App’s ICON is well designed and catchy.

2- I feel identified with my ICON’s app.

3- I can notice what kind of app it is by only looking at the APP’S ICON one time.

4. You defined search keywords before writing title, description..of your app in google play and any other posts in forums or social media.

5. You checked keywords with google trends and google keywords planning to make sure they are used by searchers.

6- The description have more than 500 characters and I have a YouTube video attached reviewing the app. See example of our Bubber Bee video.

7- The description has specific keywords related with my app.

8- Those keywords are placed at the beginning of the description, in the middle and at the end (like this article)

9- I have a promo title with 1 or 2 keywords.

Marketing app checklist

10- My app’s title is catchy, easy to remember and/or include the most searched keyword.

11- I’ve placed the URL policy and Contact Developer information.

12- I have the right graphics for the different devices.

13- I have a working app, with NO AGGRESIVE ADS and no BUGS.

14- I have tested my app 30 times.

15- It’s an intuitive app, I can understand it in less than 30 seconds.

16- There is no misleading information. E.G: It’s says that is free but at the end the user have to buy a subscription.

17- I have linked all my apps with each other.

18- I have at least 10 reviews with users that have placed the best Keywords related with my app.

19- I didn’t buy any bulk of reviews from inactive G+ accounts.

20- I have a web site about my app linked with my app’s Google play page.

21- I have at least 1000 backlinks linked to my web site and Google play page

22- I have at least 3 social networks (among FB, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest, Vine, etc.. ) with a KEYWORD URL linked with my Google app’s page.

23- My web site & social networks are updated at least 1 time per week.

24- My app has no country limitation.

25- It’s available in several languages.

26- It’s mainly in ENGLISH. Focus in an English Market.

27- No sexual content. No illegal content.

28. I applied to programs such as FBStart by Facebook and Startup LaunchPad by Google to get supporting resources

WITH (SOME) MARKETING FEE, YOU CAN DO THESE:

29- I got some seed installs and ratings from your friends and/or from installs exchange platform

30- I got boost from incentivized installs.

31- I promoted my facebook/twitter pages and posts about your game using paid advertising campaign

32- I contacted an online newspaper specializing in games to write about my game. Example: Our article about Ant Age Game.

33- I contacted game reviewers to do review video and post it in their channels

Thanks for reading. If you think this Marketing app checklist, share it with your friends!

Download handful docx file here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7oi8dha8ojek8um/Marketing%20app%20CHECKLIST.docx?dl=0

See video about tips for marketing apps for newbie: https://youtu.be/LpHAr2RcVWo

--

--