The Definitive Rankings of the Madea Films

Nick
5 min readMar 2, 2019

When comedic genius Tyler Perry began crafting his character of Mabel “Madea” Simmons, I highly doubt he had a clue of what cultural phenomena he would be creating. Since the first film premiered in 2005, you haven’t been able to step outside without seeing a reference, or hearing your funniest friend mimic Madea’s iconic “Hallelujer”.

I have courageously given myself the job of ranking these pieces of high art for those ignorant of Perry’s brilliance, so those poor souls will know where to find the most laughs. Let us begin.

1. Boo 2! A Madea Halloween

The only thing I could think about the second I left the theatre after the premiere of the first BOO A Madea Halloween, was that I needed more. And “Praise da Lordt” because boy did we get some. After what felt like an eternity (one year) Tyler Perry shocked the world by releasing a second BOO, but this time, things got even crazier.

This one takes the top spot because not only does it give gut busting laughs, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) Boo ! A Madea Halloween

Every night before my slumber, I always asked myself “Man, I cannot even imagine the antics Madea and company would get into during the Halloween season.” I didn’t have to wait long before my prayers were answered. I don’t want to spoil anything, because this is a must watch, but lets just say it’s best to empty your bladder before you hear a certain somebody tell a trick-or-treater “I’m a trick, she’s a treat, now get the hell on.”

This one takes the top spot because not only does it give side splitting laughs, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) Madea’s Tough Love

When I first saw this film I was taken aback. That was certainly Madea’s voice, but there was something just a bit off about her body. It took me a second watch to realize that the sassy grandma making me laugh was animated. For the many like me, animation is a method in which still drawn pictures are somehow edited to appear as moving images. It’s brilliant, magical, and leave it to Tyler Perry to come up with such an idea.

This one takes the top spot because not only does it give knock your socks off laughs, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) A Madea Christmas

Every night before my slumber, I always asked myself “Man, I cannot even imagine the antics Madea and company would get into during the Christmas season.” I didn’t have to wait long before my prayers were answered. I don’t want to spoil anything, because this is a must watch, but lets just say it’s best to empty your bladder before you hear a certain somebody say they are prescribed “5 milligrams of ‘Don’t Choke a Ho’.”

This one takes the top spot because not only is it a a barrel of laughs, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) Madea’s Witness Protection

I thought Witless Protection with Larry the Cable guy was the pinnacle of Witness Protection comedy. Boy, did Tyler Perry teach me otherwise. This is without a doubt the most dramatic of the bunch, and I guarantee you’ll be saying “Hallelujer!” after our Madea makes it out of some precarious situations.

This one takes the top spot because not only will you be rolling on the floor laughing, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) Madea Goes To Jail

I never thought Madea would go to jail. Imagine my surprise when she did in Madea Goes To Jail. You’ll be shouting “Hallelujer!” at your television when Madea makes it out of some precarious situations.

This one takes the top spot because not only will you be LOLing out loud, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

1. (Tie) Madea’s Big Happy Family

The first time I saw Shad “Bow Wow” Moss on my televison, I knew he would be big time, but never this big. As they say in Hollywood, “You can’t say you’ve made it unless you’re in Madea.” Well Shad, you’ve made it kid. I don’t want to say too much about this and spoil the film, but let’s just say a certain some one has some troubles with their old car and says “Nothing’s wrong with it at all, except the other day I went out there and put my foot on the gas, and the trunk opened!”. You’l just have to watch to see who said it.

This one takes the top spot because not only will you be peeing in your trousers, but it also teaches the importance of family values along the way.

10. The Shawshank Redemption

What an absolute waste of time. I endured through the entirety of this film and only enjoyed the single scene with Madea in it (pictured below).

And they had the nerve to not give her any lines! The utter disrespect. If you had to skip one of the films on this list, this is the one.

--

--