Yoga for Dementia Patients: Day 4

Turmeric Yoga
3 min readFeb 6, 2019

--

‘Sit comfortably in your chairs and let your eyes gently close, and bring your hands to heart centre in prayer pose’, were my first instructions. “Let us think of this one special person in our lives who we love very much and dedicate this yoga practice to them”. I then asked if any of them wanted to share who that special person was. Jane* said that she dedicated it to her husband who she loved very much and likewise Joe mentioned his wife. Chris mumbled something which sounded like ‘Maria’ but I couldn’t be sure. But I was so pleased that he volunteered. He did make eye contact when he said that. Reema told me that apart from his physical condition, he was also depressed. It was nice to know that there was someone he loved very much.

Manny was missing and I was told he wasn’t feeling well enough to make the trip to the centre. I did remember to take the book for him. I will take it again next time. It is interesting that I am starting to miss people already although I have been there only four times.

I promised them some football action this session. We did some kicking movements with our legs. I could tell that Joe liked football very much as he tried to do the kicking with vigour. We continued with our sitting jogs. A new pose I introduced this time was sitting ‘Jumping Jacks’. Lucy, Julie and Annie were all smiles while doing this. I followed this up with the grinding flour asana and we repeated, “Grind the wheat, bake the bread”, to continue with my theme of vocalising to increase engagement. I told them as they were doing so well, I was tempted to do many repetitions of the sun salutation . They all looked happy.

While I was discussing my volunteering with my sister, she suggested that I introduce some kind of rhythm as studies have shown the rhythmic exercises help improve brain function. From my training in South Indian classical music, I am familiar with different types of beat cycles or thalams. I thought, “Why not introduce one such, and also teach the Sanskrit words that accompany it?” I am starting to think innovatively and leverage my knowledge in different areas to make the yoga sessions to be of maximum benefit. I taught them to say, “Tha ka, tha ka, dhimmi” in a 12 beat cycle called ‘Rupaka thalam’. They all tried it although the words were very unfamiliar to them. Perhaps learning something completely new would be stimulating to their brains? We varied the speed and Lucy absolutely loved it. She was like a little girl giggling with pleasure.

We have finalised plans to do another session on a different day. Maybe two times a week would be of greater benefit in terms of improved flexibility and mobility.

One of the very refreshing aspects of some people in my class is that they have no pretence or sense of formality. Mark cornered me at the beginning of the class and wanted to know if I was married and how many children I had and whether they were married and if I drove a car. Strangely I didn’t feel uncomfortable answering any of his questions. He never listened to my answers any way!

*All names have been changed

If you enjoyed this, read about Days 1, 2, 3, 5 & 6.

--

--