12 Steps To Beautiful Stage Makeup for Dark Skin

Taking two tutorials and “blending” them to make one.

Obinna Morton
3 min readMay 19, 2020

I’m going to send an apology to the studio I was in in Atlanta. A simple email apology. My sister said that would be the best thing to do.

So I will.

God, let me find the right spaces for me. And be honest with them about this, and take ownership of what I can. Apologize. And then keep going.

“A woman who isn’t afraid to show the world where she comes from can go anywhere.” -Tiffany Haddish

This is the 80% I like about her. The other 20%, I’m always conflicted.

Now though, I’m going to write step-by-step a makeup tutorial for ballet stage makeup. I watched two videos, a girl with dark skin, and then a girl with light skin, since there are more of these and they still have a lot of information.

This time, I watched both and combined the steps to make this. And will do the makeup part later.

Onward.

12 Steps for Ballet Stage Makeup

Actually, the title says dark skin, but it would be for anyone. But I did this specific to me. And this is the point of reference I have, so I’ll keep the title. (I edited it and the content to sound better.)

Also, I will have to get a few more makeup supplies. And then I’ll be able to really work through the steps and take pictures. Today I did the steps as a practice round.

  1. Start with liquid foundation all over the face and neck. Blend well. Add foundation to your neck because you want your face and neck to match, and not be two different skin shades.
  2. Brush out eyebrows first to make sure they’re in a line. To make sure there’s an arch when you actually fill them in.
  3. Use eyebrow gel so that if you touch your eyebrows, they don’t rub off.
  4. Prep the darker shadow and lighter shadow. Start with the lighter shadow on the eyelids. Put this color under the eyebrow to highlight this area, too.
  5. Use the darker shadow to do a defining technique. And create a crease in the folds of the eyelids. Make a triangle shape. Blend.
  6. Use a pinkish or a purple color with the crease.
  7. Use a nude color to touch up some places.
  8. Add winged eyeliner.
  9. Use sparkle dust in the corners of your eyes.
  10. Put on fake eyelashes. Use glue. Make sure that you tie it right to the edge of where your lashes are.
  11. Fish lips. Apply blush. Line at cheek bone, put the blush above it. (Another person says put it under, so we’ll see.)
  12. Put on chapstick before starting makeup so that lips aren’t too dry. Put on a little bit of concealer, or primer. Rub it in a little bit. Put on lipstick, red lipstick. Blot so when you smile, no lipstick gets on your teeth.

So that’s all. This is one of the things I worked on tonight. Thanks for reading.

Obinna Morton

--

--

Obinna Morton

My name is Obinna. This is my story. WEOC, The Pink, The Book Mechanic.