Tour de Faroe Islands

Vilhelm Rothe
4 min readJul 6, 2019

--

Fun fact: Faroe Islands is a tautological place name, as the “oe” means islands, “oyar” in Faroese and “øerne” in Danish. In Faroese the place is known as Føroyar and in Danish as Færøerne, which are not tautological.

Another interesting fact is that no one goes on bicycling holidays there, at least as far as I’ve been able to find. It’s possible to rent mountain bikes for some epic trails up there, but no bicycle touring. This means that I’m either going to find a gem in the rough, or there’s an excellent reason for why no one does it. I mean the excellent public transport,the short short distances (The Faroe Islands measure all of 1,399 km2 (540 sq mi)), and the fact that it rains more than half the year, and the summer is characterised by heavy fogs are good reasons too, but I’m determined to go.

This is my first bicycle touring trip, and so I’ve wavered ever since I decided to go. Is this a good idea? Won’t I just get sick of the rain and the wind? What’s the point of bicycling when the distances are so short, and everyone is keen to pick up hitch-hikers (or so I’ve been told)? Well, I’m determined to visit the Faroe Islands, it’s an old dream, I love bicycling, and if it’s an awful experience in whatever way, I’ll learn and grow from that. If it’s as awful as my nightmares fear, I’ll buy a cheap backpack, hitch-hike and take buses.

If anyone else decides to go bicycle touring on Faroe Islands, I figured I’d write about my trip, so it isn’t just a vacuum of information out there. At the end of the trip, I’ll update how it went, what was unnecessary and what I wish I had brought. So here’s the first post, with a description of what I’m bringing (by category):

All the goods I’m packing into my panniers, drybag and daypack.
All the goods packed into my panniers, drybag and daypack.
Packed onto my bicycke, though you’ll have to imagine the High 5 bottle

Camping gear

Cooking gear

Bicycle gear

Camera gear

Electronics

Personal hygiene

  • Noname silicone bottles (with shampoo and dish-washing soap)
  • Chapstick
  • Deoderant
  • Toothbrush
  • Zendium toothpaste (doesn’t foam, can’t do without it)
  • Soap
  • Toilet papir
  • Athletic tape

Clothes

Miscellaneous gear

Not pictured

Things I’m not bringing, and never intended to

Late changes:

  • Got rid of the folding plate, going to eat from the pot or the cutting board (space)
  • Added a tea towel for cleaning
  • Added a kitchen brush after cutting off the handle
  • Removed the pair of heavy socks, and added a more lightweight pair (after all, summer in the Faroe Islands is 10–14°C)
  • Added an extra shirt, as my woolen layers, though warm, are not particularly windproof
  • Removed the compass, it was large and cumbersome, and it really becomes necessary (I’ll be bicycling along roads and hiking along paths), I’ll turn my phone on

--

--

Vilhelm Rothe

I now dream more of running away than I ever did as a child; freedom is no fear.