Morning Rise

Theresa Wilhelm
1 min readAug 4, 2022

--

Photo by Liana Mikah on Unsplash

Wake up to alarms that blair, a sound so awful like the sirens of despair.

Uncertainty of what the day brings in while my eyes stay closed, obligations are a given, inconveniences pray they be minor…

Feathered pillows keep me close, begging me to stay.

The urge to roll and turnover until reach tasty golden brown like a pastry.

Take me back oh realm of dreams, allow me escape from this morning’s reality.

The Universe answers with the beckoning of a rooster’s crow, the longer I lay in silence the louder it seems to grow.

Solid I remain allowing my conciousness to drift, a deep breath in, a willing wind to set my weary bones to sail.

Beep beep, my final warning I ignore as if there I had not heard the ones before.

Soft pitter-patter of footbeds on the floorboards, followed by a forehead dawned with whiskered whispers.

I rise to my greeting with energy already depleting.

Okay, finally I say, time to start the day.

From my bed I carefully flee, off to embrace my morning cup of coffee.

Cup in tow, the front porch is where I go when creative words require steady flow.

--

--