Trying to learn python from scratch

Tyler
2 min readJun 29, 2018

--

We can only imagine trying to learn python from scratch is not something anyone will be able to do without a nice little ramp up. There will be a lot of guessing, trying things that do not work, and of course a lot of failure.

What’s nice about failure for you as a person who’s trying to learn python from scratch, you may want to realize coding is 99% failure, <1% success. Otherwise everyone would be a programmer.

(This is my intro to a series of blogs coming soon.)

A good friend of mine recently told me “the pain you feel is you coming out of your shell.

He was quoting someone but the point is, if you feel a little weird about learning python, JOIN THE CLUB.

I have always feared learning complex things surrounding certain areas of technology, I’m not exactly sure why, but I do know what gets me moving. It’s working on a project. I have a project in mind.

So, for our first application, let’s build something that will parse web pages, calls APIs, and generates data in some format that is usable from a reporting or dashboarding perspective. Python has a lot of flexibility in this space from a “what’s the best language for web scraping” perspective, we got you covered.

Link — https://hexfox.com/p/what-is-the-best-language-for-web-scraping/

This was a good kick start to point you a few directions, I hope to go through and offer more insights surrounding python and usage while learning from scratch.

Not going to lie, I tried python once ever and got stuck on spacing because I came recently from a language that didn’t care. So that’s step one, remembering to keep track of the overall syntax layout, that was not fun to trouble shoot. So, today, and forever, I’m trying to learn python from scratch, 1 of many I can assure you.

Starting python, there’s a lot of content online, but what do I need to start now?

More soon.

--

--

Tyler

blogging helps me learn, remember, and understand concepts. www.dev3lop.com. www.tylergarrett.com, twitter = @itylergarrett