Using Code to Design pt. 2: Git

Tyler Miller
1 min readFeb 10, 2018

--

The previous Article can be read here!

As a designer, tracking work is a f#%king nightmare. The hype surrounding Abstract, which launched earlier this year, was not misplaced. Git has always sounded dreamy, and while I’ve had some experience with it, a lack of workflow makes it difficult to break into.

I recently launched a website using GitHub Pages, which was pretty effortless. In doing so, i managed to use Terminal to clone the repository, make changes locally, create commits and push those changes back up to master.

I’ve used git before but things get rusty when you don’t use them, so I flipped back through the Code School x GitHub tutorial, which is a great way to get refreshed. By the end I was feeling very confident in my ability to actually use git.

I’ve peripherally heard that it’s poor practice to work directly on master, and just from a few years of working in tech I can understand why that’s the case. Unfortunately, working on branches currently makes it impossible for me to see the work I’m doing live. This is a huge disfunction for me, and so in order to go forward I’ll need to figure out how to see my work live, locally.

Resources Used:

--

--