It Takes a Village — my time on the Poynette Area Public Library Board

Typewrittensmitten
4 min readMar 9, 2024

--

“Who knew that behind the bookshelves and surface of libraries that so much went into every detail.”

https://www.hngnews.com/poynette_press/community/poynette-area-public-library-events/article_1f0e9692-ffd3-11ed-b2e8-eb8d18469430.html

Before I made the life-changing decision to attend Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College in 2018 to pursue my bachelor’s degree …

I joined my local library board.

https://giphy.com/gifs/readingrainbow-dance-levar-burton-reading-rainbow-xT1XGL72qSsN4iSTRu

Since our mother had passed away the year before, my sisters and I had reached the goal of purchasing a home of our own; I was at a loss for what to dream up next for my life.

This was around the time I’d decided that literary and bookish pursuits would be part of my new dreams.

The library board position was not what I had originally set out for.

Having applied and interviewed for a position on my local Village Board, a more experienced candidate had won out.

I was surprised when the Village Administrator reached out to say the board had been so happy to see my application, and wanted to recommend something they thought could be an even better fit:

the library had just had a seat open up.

At twenty-six, I was the only millennial and youngest member. It was a full-circle moment at the time, because this was the same public library, I had spent a few years volunteering for when I was eighteen.

Starting out as a library page,

much of the duties were shelving books,

helping library patrons, and assisting with the children’s programs.

Being a library board member was quite different.

Meetings took place once a month, at which time the eight or so board members would complete that month’s agenda of items and create next month’s agenda. Those items discussed on the agenda ranged from approving requests for funds for the librarians to choosing a new copy machine to approving remodeling or renovation plans.

When I was a library page, I hadn’t thought that so much went into this.

While the position was volunteer work, being a lover of libraries and learning so much, I stayed on the board for three years until 2021. Covid-19 was in full swing, and while we were approving the installation of plate glass at the circulation desk and sanitation policies for returned materials, and eventually the methods through which the library could still operate without customers being allowed inside, I’d finally decided that the two jobs I worked at the time along with my college studies were keeping me busy enough.

But as with any experience in which we set out with an open heart, you never know how much you can learn or what you’ll find.

https://giphy.com/gifs/bbcamerica-killing-eve-season-3-meetings-have-biscuits-XFinS4v2fbQ5xgvgwD

I couldn’t have imagined that I’d learn so much about event planning, writing meeting minutes, and working with such a broad array of opinions to come to decisions.

I’ll miss the school superintendent who is now retired teaching me the ins and outs of Robert’s Rules, and how to “first,” “second,” or “pass a motion.” I’ll miss the retired women’s wisdom and enthusiasm for libraries.

https://giphy.com/gifs/joebiden-party-celebrate-confetti-cJYdp94ZpjEEz5W3V9

Who knew that behind the bookshelves and surface of libraries that so much went into every detail.

I’d started out seeking a new way to build community, and the experience brought me back to somewhere I’d been, but in such a new and interesting way.

To learn more about PAPL, https://www.poynettelibrary.com/. Other places to check for openings if you’re interested in getting involved with your local library would be their website.

--

--

Typewrittensmitten

All things writerly & bookish. Asst. Librarian, BA English student at Saint Mary-of-the-Woods College, Writing & History minors - Class of 2024.