This Year’s Been Trying (a poem)

Someone who writes
2 min readJun 1, 2024

--

Pinterest, Quote by Paul Coelho

This year’s been trying .

This mountain I’m climbing,

It’s rocks are steep,

The air too thin,

Who knew I’d have

To fall to win.

Who knew Id been running

For nothing .

Each step down, it takes some faith.

To say you won’t go tumbling .

For fear’s a mountain hard to descend.

Those jagged rocks,

The thickening mists,

And 𝘕𝘰 𝘞𝘢𝘺 to see the end.

But trust me; the mists get thinner.

The rocks softer, the air richer.

Though sometimes you will fall.

Harder, more painful than ever,

And the mountain will grow taller

Than it ever was before.

But Know that you will make it down,

And see all the things you’ve dreamed of.

Know that you will make it down,

And see sights you’ve never dreamed of.

So though this year’s been trying,

I know that change’s arriving.

And I will make it down.

Hi everyone!

It’s been quite a while since I last posted anything new so I doubt this poem will be seen by many eyes, but I’m glad I wrote it anyway. It’s served as a sort of encouragement for both me and hopefully you, because running from your fear becomes quite hard at one point. There’s a point when you realise that you can’t run farther, you can’t avoid it any longer because if you do then it’s going to cause far bigger problems in the future.

Problems that you can’t run from or ignore.

But… it’s still hard to face it because in some cases you have no way of knowing if it will go right or not.

I think something that consoles me when I fail is that I tried.

The fact that I took that leap of faith is enough.

The thing I struggle with is facing people. With time, I’ve come to realise that fear shouldn’t be the thing that stops me from facing someone. It should be a choice of whether I want to or need to.

This fear often leaves me with suppressed emotions because I wouldn’t speak up even though I wanted to.

I make excuses to myself if I need to talk to someone though I’ve always wanted to talk to people and get to know them.

In the end all its left me with is regret.

And I’ve realized that I don’t want to leave off anymore things that I could have done just because of fear which I suppose….is why I wrote this poem.

This is a longer note than usual but if you’re still reading….

Thank you from the depths of my heart. 💗

--

--

Someone who writes

A dreamer who loves to live in her own world, writing it out for others to explore