Misery by Stephen King — Book Review

Uber Toque
5 min readJun 26, 2022

One man, one woman, one room (sort of). Whatever could happen…

A still from the 1990 movie adaptation of Misery

Paul Sheldon, the NYT bestselling author of the Misery Chastain series, crashes his car in rural Colorado after finishing his newest book. Annie, his self-proclaimed biggest fan with a dark past, finds and nurses him back to health.

It’s a fascinating set-up for what ended up being a fascinating read. It was only a few months ago that I read my first ever Stephen King book. (Shawshank Redemption review here.) In that review, I mentioned how much I enjoyed his writing and for any recommendations people had. One of them was Misery.

This is a random aside from the review but to buy this digitally was $7.99, but to buy the paperback and have it shipped to my house was $2.99. I don’t get how that works but here we are.

Misery caught my eye for a few reasons. One, I remember reading about the disastrous Broadway adaptation starring Bruce Willis in 2015. Two, it’s the only Stephen King book I remember seeing on my parent’s bookshelf as a kid. (Turns out my Mom didn’t really enjoy it.) And three, the idea of a successful author writing a book about a successful author whose abducted by his biggest fan sounds intriguing.

And it was.

--

--

Uber Toque

I read a lot and write about that reading I suppose… Among other things.