YA Book Series that would make Awesome R-Rated Adult Books

Uber Toque
3 min readMay 26, 2022

What would happen if you take a YA book premise, and rewrote it as an R-rated adventure? I think sometimes it would be a pretty darn cool book.

I do want to add a disclaimer/caveat/cop-out before this list. I enjoyed all four of these books/series and think they work well as YA stories. I also think that a more explicit version of them would be awesome.

The Hunger Games

I know it’s from the movie and we’re talking about books.. oh well

Imagine if you will, a battle royale arena where adults aged 18–25, in the middle of their athletic prime are chosen to fight against each other to the death while representing their district. The whole kids fighting each other thing always struck me as a strange but interesting gimmick.

That battle royale gimmick would be a fascinating tale in an R-rated setting. We sort of got this in book 2 (spoilers) where the returning winners had to compete and it was much more interesting. If we take that a step further and add the extra violence, sex, and swearing that would definitely be in that arena, this would be a crazy story.

Arc of the Scythe

--

--

Uber Toque

I read a lot and write about that reading I suppose… Among other things.