FotogramMatrice

Ubi de Feo
2 min readFeb 9, 2017

--

With FITC Amsterdam X getting closer, I’m working on some small LED matrix animations for my demo (some examples are visible on my Instagram feed), which forced me to make some changes to my rudimentary pixel frames generator.
Because I had to spend a few hours on it to make it suit my current needs (mostly exporting C headers), I decided to give it a bit of a polish and throw it out in the open.

http://ubidefeo.com/fotogrammatrice/

FotogramMatrice comes from “Fotogramma” (frame) and “Matrice” (matrix), but in Italian when you add the suffix “-trice” or “-tore” to some verbs, it often refers to a machine or a tool which performs the action. E.g: “Calcola-trice” is the machine which performs calculations.
It’s not hard to figure out hour it works, and I hope you’ll give it a go.
It comes with the NES colour palette as default :)

It’s in pre-alpha, so it’s got some issues, namely:

- tested only on Safari (I don’t care much for other browsers)
- no proper layout is defined
- CSS is very basic and nowhere close to being “thought”
- the “export” functionality, for now, only works as an alert generator for you to copy from (it’s all static HTML/JS)
- while the palette and preview are canvas objects, the grid is still based on DIV elements (yes, I wanted to see how far I could push it)
- it’s still got the jQuery over-head, but I’ll scrape it off when I have more time

--

--