Children’s Nutritional Health in Low-Income Families

DFA UCSD
1 min readJan 15, 2020

--

Above image from The Apopka Voice (2018)

Our design will focus on health education and at-home implementation. We are exploring the space of parental time-management related to meal prep and fitting cooking into their schedules.

Rachel Reyes, Team Lead: “I am interested in the topic due to personal experience. When I was younger, I only had access to junk food and things that were cheap / wouldn’t expire quickly. My mom was too busy working to make meals for us, and this affected my relationship with health and food. This being said, I wanted to make a difference in the childhoods of other kids who are going through similar situations. Nutritional health can affect so many other aspects of a kid’s life that will carry on into adulthood. Since I have Design for America as a means of making change, I wanted to design for this issue that I connect with personally.”

--

--

DFA UCSD

DFA is a student-run organization at UC San Diego that focuses on solving issues impacting the San Diego community through human-centered design.