Mental Wellness on Campus

DFA UCSD
2 min readJan 14, 2020

--

Screenshot from the team’s mental-wellness app Sprout

Our project’s objective is to emphasize and educate students about the importance of mental health while ensuring that students are aware of and practice good mental hygiene. Last year, we conducted interviews and learned a lot more about how students deal with mental health issues and uncovered the lack of knowledge of the resources on campus. This year, we’re focusing more on designing a solution for the issue: a wellness app that encourages good mental hygiene and keeps track of a student’s mental wellness.

Kylee Peng, Team Lead: “I’m passionate about leading this team because the topic of mental health is one that is near and dear to all of us. A lot of people opened up to me about their experiences with dealing with mental health and reflected on how mental health is often ridiculed or overlooked on campus. I want my peers to understand that it’s okay to not feel okay, and to be well equipped with resources to reach out to when the time comes. Also, being part of a team filled with passionate members is really encouraging, and I’m excited to work on a project that makes a meaningful impact. Our team is filled with super talented people, so I’m excited to learn from them throughout the year!”

Andres Baez, Team Lead: “Hello, I’m Andres! I’m currently a senior Cognitive Science Major/ Computer Science Minor and I’m the team lead for the DFA Mental Wellness team. I chose this topic last year because I felt that it was an issue that resonated with a lot of student’s experiences at UCSD as well as other Universities. I hope that my involvement in this project can encourage students to be more aware of their mental health on a day to day basis as well as make on-campus resources more accessible. Outside of DFA and School, I love to listen to music and go to live shows when I can. I also work at the career center, so feel free to come to get your resume checked out!”

--

--

DFA UCSD

DFA is a student-run organization at UC San Diego that focuses on solving issues impacting the San Diego community through human-centered design.