Sexual Assault Awareness & Prevention

DFA UCSD
2 min readJan 15, 2020

--

This year, our team will be focusing on addressing sexual assault awareness and prevention on campus. We will be working with CARE at SARC, the sexual assault resource center on campus.

Throughout the year, we will be redesigning, improving, and adding features to their website. Specifically, we plan to provide resources and information that will foster a lasting campus culture of community members who aid in prevention by confronting the negative.

Lucy Cummins, Team Lead: “I am passionate about this team for a few reasons. First, I am interested in addressing and solving issues that largely affect women and members of the LGBTQ+ community. While sexual assault affects everyone, it is unfortunately the case that women and LGBTQ+ folk are at higher risk. As a member of both of these communities, I feel a personal stake in solving this issue. Secondly, I believe that sexual violence and assault is still a taboo and uncomfortable subject for many to discuss, making it harder to address. Therefore, by leading this team, I hope to open that discussion so that change can be made. While a challenging topic to focus on, the challenge is what makes me excited to be focused on these issues and I am looking forward to making a difference!”

Sunny Yang, Team Lead: “This year is the first time I lead a team. I am really so excited to be one of the team leads of SAP. The reason I am passionate about leading the team is as follows. First, sexual assault is one of the most serious safety concerns at UCSD. When I was a freshman, I received several emails about sexual assault cases on campus. To be honest, I did not take it seriously at that time. When I started leading the SAP team, I found more and more people around me would like to share their experience with me and look to me for help. I completely change my mind about sexual assault on campus. It is really close to everyone. A lot of people do not know how to deal with the problem when it actually happened, which may cause more serious physical and psychological harm. This year, our team Sexual Assault Awareness and Prevention will try to optimize the sexual assault resources on campus. I hope we could let more and more people realize the problem, and the on-campus resources they could look to for help, and prevent sexual assault at UCSD.”

--

--

DFA UCSD

DFA is a student-run organization at UC San Diego that focuses on solving issues impacting the San Diego community through human-centered design.