Photo by Thom Milkovic on Unsplash

My Journey to Self-Discovery and Becoming a Writer

Uduakudousoro

--

When I was young, I had a clear vision of who I wanted to become. As I grew older, that image became increasingly blurry, and I found myself feeling lost.

I struggled with preserving my childhood dreams in the face of the changing reality and environment around me. Holding onto those dreams was my way of staying connected to myself, a reminder that I hadn’t given up on who I truly was.

After high school, I thought I was getting a grip on who I wanted to be. Life seemed to be falling into place, and my dreams felt attainable. However, my optimism was short-lived.

Fast forward to 5+ years in university, and I felt even more lost than when I started. Graduation was supposed to be the climax of my self-discovery, but I found myself standing at the crossroads of uncertainty.

Today, ten months post-graduation, I can proudly say I’ve found myself — at least to some extent. I’m still evolving, learning, unlearning, and embracing change. I remain open to new ideas, plans, and even a new way of life.

One invaluable lesson I learned from my journey is that “IT’S OKAY TO CHANGE.” Like many others, I had constructed walls, ideologies, and values that I held dear. Altering any of these felt like losing a part of myself. Yet, change is one of life’s few constants. What I know today surpasses what I knew yesterday, and it’s perfectly acceptable to have new dreams and aspirations.

After years of searching, struggling, giving up (admittedly a few times), persevering, shedding tears, and experiencing moments of joy, I’ve finally found my calling as a writer.

So, allow me to introduce myself. I’m Uduak Udousoro, a poet, copywriter, and creative writer. In the coming days, expect stories covering a wide range of topics, including:

  1. Copywriting
  2. Poetry
  3. Fiction
  4. Productivity, and
  5. Culture.

In summary, it’s okay to let go of your childhood dreams and embrace new aspirations. Do it not to let down your younger self but to make them proud. I’m thrilled to be stepping out into the world, fully aware that the journey won’t be easy, but no one ever promised it would be. This is just the beginning, and I’m immensely proud of how far I’ve come.

Have you ever had to let go of a childhood dream or embrace a major change in your life? Share your story or thoughts on embracing change and self-discovery in the comments below. I’d love to hear from you!

*****

Thanks for reading :)

Follow me here on Medium

--

--

Uduakudousoro

Humanitarian, Copywriter, Creative Writer. Making a difference with my art.