What is happiness to you?

Ugonna Thelma
2 min readNov 29, 2019

--

My younger brother is about to finish secondary school (high school for those who aren’t familiar with this). He’s trying to decide what to study in the university.

I remember when I was that age, clueless as well. I was good at Maths and sciences so everyone expected I’d be a doctor.

Back to my brother, I suggested Computer Science or anything related.

Why?

Because it’s stable and the opportunities to succeed are always better than other disciplines everywhere in the world.

Same thing I was advised by my older sister. I’m glad I listened.

Then he asked me a question that I had never thought about.

Are you happy?

For the first time in over 20 years of my life, I thought about it. Am I happy?

This rat race we’re all in. Wake up, Eat, Work, Sleep…repeat forever. What makes it worth it?

For me, It’s my family and being able to be there for them emotionally and financially makes me happy. The smile on my nephews’ and nieces’ faces.

My friends too. I don’t have a lot of them but the few that make the cut, I hold them very close to my heart and being able to support them when they need it gives me joy.

And finally me, myself and I.

I love myself a lot.

Sometimes I do not feel my best especially dealing with anxiety but I do love myself and being able to travel the world is a blessing.

What I’m trying to say is:

It is perfectly fine to have a career in a field for other reasons aside passion as long as you do it well and you are happy

Do not let anyone make you feel bad about it.

Remember, Passion can be developed if there’s a bit of interest.

After much thought, I finally gave my brother an answer.

I needed him to know that the world is not black or white, there are grey parts. You don’t have to love or hate something. You can be in the middle.

This was what i told him:

Yes! I am happy because what I do is not unbearable and I can support the people I love financially. I am also making impact in the world (or a part of it at least).

P.S. If it is unbearable, do not do it.

So, what is happiness to you? I’ll like to hear from you. Leave a comment or reach out to me on Twitter @ugonna_t.

--

--

Ugonna Thelma

Software Engineer, UI Designer, Logo Designer, Childrens book illustrator :)