Preston McCauley
4 min readMar 22, 2019

--

Haptics Are Part Of Our #AR #VR Touchable Future: A Look At The Haptx And Beyond.

I was fortunate to have spent a decent amount of time with that Haptx gloves. The gloves are meant to simulate touch, and sensations by applying pressure to the fingertips. These types of input are still costly but have taken great leaps in only a few years. They will eventually become mainstream as this type of feedback is an important step forward in dimensional design to help bring all the senses into the virtual ecosystems we inhabit.

Gearing Up With The Haptx Gloves
I removed my watch as this can often cause issues with magnetometers. I have other types of equipment like this at the office that requires removing tech to use tech.

With the help of the two awesome Haptx people on site I put on some white sterile gloves, and then the staff helped to slip(shove) the two gloves on to my hands.

Initially, the gloves are quite heavy. For a moment while putting them on, I felt a bit like ash from Army Of Darkness.

At this point, I asked a kindly person next to me to take my phone and take lots of…

--

--

Preston McCauley

Principal Immersive Design & Development Strategist: AR / VR / MR / Consultant / Professional Speaker / UX Teacher — Clear Sight Designs