CAGE THE ELEPHANT

Claireness
2 min readOct 7, 2021

--

ARTICLE AND FILM BY CLAIRE

The band, Cage the Elephant, was named when the lead singer, Matt Schultz, went to a fortune teller and picked a card. He gave the card to the teller who started screaming frantically, “Cage the Elephant! Cage the Elephant!” Schultz got so scared that he ran out and believed that his life was doomed. Schultz brother believed it was a sign, and thus they formed the band, Cage the Elephant. From the beginning this band loved doing things differently and pushing boundaries. Cage the Elephant is one of those bands that has many songs that people know but don’t talk about enough. These songs include Cigarette Daydreams (the most popular), Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked, Come a Little Closer, Social Cues, Black Madonna, etc. Their concert made me realize what a performance is supposed to be like.

I received the concert tickets for free through a radio show contest. The concert featured three bands including Spoon, Cage the Elephant, and Beck. I knew more about the singer Beck and was excited to see him. I had heard of the other bands before but I believed that I would not really expect much from them.

Cage the Elephant was the second band to perform, and I never knew what a live concert felt like until Matt Schultz, the lead singer, stepped on stage. I knew this concert was going to be good when Schultz stepped onto stage wearing a beekeeper’s outfit. He stole my attention by stripping off a piece of his outfit every time he sang a song. I was so mesmerized because this was the first concert I have been to where the band actually performed. Schultz not only sang but he climbed onto the stage props, jumped over the fire sprouting up on stage, and crowd surfed all the way to where I was sitting in the nose bleeds. My eyes followed him everywhere and I could sense the emotion with every song through his voice and facial expressions. It felt like he was singing directly for me and that everyone else in the crowd were just props. That night, I went home in love with Cage the Elephant and especially in love with Matt Schultz ❤.

Matt Schultz giving everything into his performance FILM BY CLAIRE

--

--