How Writing Can Transform Your Life: 5 Ways Writing Makes a Difference

Umrao Abhish
5 min readOct 17, 2023

--

How Writing Can Transform Your Life

From Shy Kid to Fearless Writer

Once upon a time, in a little town, there was a quiet and timid boy. I hardly ever spoke up and was scared of big crowds.

But little did I know that his journey with writing was about to begin, and it all started in a surprising way — during his second-grade Independence Day celebration.

Photo by Laura Wielo on Unsplash

The Scary Stage

Picture a small second-grader standing on a big stage, holding a piece of paper with a speech I wrote all by myself.

It was Independence Day at school, and I was chosen for speech. I was only seven, and very, very nervous.

When I looked out at the audience, I saw lots of faces staring back at me. The claps and cheers were so loud that I got scared.

I tried to speak but couldn’t get the words out. I was so frightened that I took a step back and left the stage.

My first time speaking in front of people turned into a big disaster. Teacher throwed me stage again.

The Beginning of Writing

After the embarrassing stage mishap, I could’ve given up speaking and writing forever. But teacher had other ideas.

He thought I was good with words and encouraged me to write his speeches down and practice.

The Unexpected Turnaround

In middle school, something unusual happened in my life — I didn’t like writing.

While I enjoyed reading English and Hindi stories and diving into history books, the thought of putting pen to paper never excited me.

Writing felt like a boring chore that I wanted to avoid.

As the years passed, high school came around, and a new idea sprouted among me and my friends.

We decided to make a project in language, everybody got similar like project to submit.

It started with a simple plan: we would gather all the fascinating stories, jokes, and random facts we stumbled upon and write them down in a journal.

We wanted to make this journal extra special, so we gave it vintage look, leather covered and bookmark ribbons and tags features.

The surprising part was how this project changed my feelings about writing.

Even though I used to dislike writing, collecting all these interesting tidbits and turning them into something beautiful was a lot of fun.

Before we knew it, we had a journal that was around 500 pages long.

I couldn’t believe it! The boy who once hated writing had just completed a colossal writing project.

It was like I had written a mini-encyclopedia, and it was incredibly satisfying.

The lesson I learned from this experience was that sometimes, even the things we think we dislike can turn into our greatest joys.

Our project turned my writing world upside down and opened my eyes to a whole new realm of possibilities.

The Quest for Freedom and Clarity

Imagine a life where you call the shots, when you want, how you want, and with the people you cherish.

It’s a dream we all secretly nurture, but one day, I decided it wasn’t going to stay a dream.

I wanted to roam around the world by own and return home with extra cash, no worries, and a plan to make my family’s dreams come true.

My journey towards this dream began when I realized that I had the power to change my life. These are the steps I took to finally find clarity and direction in my life.

Step 1: Upgrade Your Content Diet

We often find ourselves stuck in the never-ending loop of quick-fix content like Instagram and Reels.

They may offer momentary pleasure, but they leave us feeling empty. It’s time to seek out high-quality content that enriches our minds.

Explore Audible and Spotify podcasts find content creators who are dedicated to providing value rather than chasing clicks.

Step 2: Unleash Your Inner Writer

Writing is the key to gaining clarity and becoming a better communicator.

You don’t need to start with complex newsletters or Twitter threads.

Begin with something simple like journaling, jotting down your goals, and exploring your ideas.

Use tools like Notion (it’s highly recommended) or your phone’s notes app. You can be professional in Notion and earn some side income as well.

This process helps you organize your thoughts and find clarity. In the beginning, it might feel confusing, but trust the process.

You’ll start noticing connections between different topics and your interests, and you’ll understand yourself better.

This self-development journey involves nurturing your mind, body, and spirit.

Once you start following your curiosity, it becomes addictive.

Step 3: The Art of Organization

To truly benefit from your newfound insights, you need to organize your thoughts.

It’s not helpful to have a jumble of random half-baked ideas. Connect the dots and simplify your thoughts into big, impactful ideas.

How you organize them doesn’t matter; it’s about what works best for you.

Step 4: The Personal Journal

Keeping a personal journal allows you to reflect on your daily experiences, thoughts, and emotions.

By doing this, you can gain valuable insights into yourself and your life.

Tracking Progress :

The act of writing down your goals and achievements is a powerful motivator.

A journal is your personal record of growth and progress, helping you stay on track and accomplish your dreams.

Step 5: Writing Your Way to Solutions

Writing forces you to organize your thoughts and tackle complex problems methodically. It’s like a roadmap to solutions.

Creativity Unleashed

The process of writing sparks creativity. When faced with challenges, writing helps you explore innovative solutions you might not have considered otherwise.

Does It Matter ?

For me, writing isn’t just a phase; it’s a lifelong commitment.

I chose to follow my passions and curiosities, and it has turned out to be the most fulfilling journey of my life thus far.

The secret lies in understanding what serves you best. For me, it’s all about simplicity and clarity.

Creativity comes in many forms, and surprisingly, my creative journey starts with structure.

Remember, your journey might not look exactly like mine, but it’s your unique path.

The beauty lies in the discovery and the adventure.

Writing isn’t just about words on a page; it’s about transforming your life, turning dreams into reality, and finding fulfillment in unexpected places.

--

--