how you remind me of the sun

vici
2 min readApr 4, 2023

--

this love letter is nothing like the paleness of the moon. not about how stars had begun to pry against a canvas of violet dye, sparkled and transfixing like the wing of a butterfly — or how the song of nightingales as a sweet lullaby. i mean…i could describe you with all of those metaphors, but this time, let me define how your existence reminds me of the sun.

consider the sun as a person. how would you describe its personality? what kind of traits and characteristics would it have? would it be warm and friendly, or distant and aloof?

i have always been the one who hates the heat of the sun seeps into my skin. i despise how it burns my skin and makes me sweat. i hate how the sweat dropping itself from my cheek, down to my neck and causing my hair to look greasy. i hate how it blinds my eyes and wakes me up from my favorite cartoon bed sheets that is covering my bed. there are countless reasons why i hate the sun, yet somehow — i have fallen for you, the personification of the sun.

isn’t it funny? it’s funny, really. it’s funny how my mother often tells me to stay away from the sun, yet i always surprise myself falling for people who remind me of the sun. perhaps, its because the warmth they give like a summer sundown and a hot apple pie, which is my other two favorite things. and as i sit beneath its rays, i can feel its warmth and love enveloping me, filling me with a sense of peace and tranquility. i can’t help but wonder what it would be like if the sun were more than just a giant ball of gas in the sky, but a sentient being with thoughts and emotions of its own.

after some time has passed i’ve noticed how the sun slowly peeks out as if it’s shy. it smiles so bright while welcoming the evening shadows and dazzles a heavily toned landscape that is pleasant to the eye. and in that moment, i can’t help but think that maybe, just maybe, god sent you down to me to make my heart feel the resumption, warmth, and rhythm of spring.

gosh, i feel incredibly lucky to have someone like you, to have someone who radiates positivity and make every day feel a little bit brighter. even in the midst of chaos and uncertainty, you always have something to be grateful for. your unwavering optimism and cheerful disposition are truly infectious, and you taught me how to see the world in a more kinder way.

in fine, you remind me of the sun because you’re warm. you remind me of the sun because i can feel you, yet i can’t be near you (it’s like the way the sun’s warmth lingers on your skin long after you’ve left its rays, you have that same kind of effect on me, where your warmth stays with me), you remind me of the sun because you burn me, you melt me.

--

--

vici

for all you are, for what you desire, an upmost sincerity...what is there to see?