DARQ to launch on the Epic Game Store!

Unfold Games
3 min readOct 21, 2021

--

Hey everyone! I realize that this news might come as a surprise to those of you who have been following DARQ for the last couple of years. I’m excited to announce that DARQ will launch on the EGS on Oct. 28th and will be free for a week! Needless to say, you’ll be able to keep the game forever if you download it during the free-week period, so make sure to treat yourself for this Halloween season!

Got questions? I got answers!

Q: How…what???

A: Following DARQ’s launch on PC, I was fortunate to partner up with Feardemic, a terrific publishing company that helped bring the game to Xbox One, Xbox Series, PS4, PS5, and Nintendo Switch. It so happens that the CEO of Feardemic, Scott Millard, has a good relationship with the EGS. At some point, Scott asked me: “Hey, do you want to have a chat with people at the EGS?” I thought it would be great to connect and have a proper phone call since we hadn’t got a chance to do that previously. I had a great chat with the EGS representative, during which we explored the possibility of bringing DARQ to their store. That’s pretty much what happened! The chat was super nice, relaxed, and professional. In all honesty, I appreciated that a lot, given the seemingly rocky start to our relationship back in 2019.

Q: After DARQ had launched, you promised to donate all revenue from the EGS sales to charity if they were to list DARQ on their store. Are you keeping your word?

A: Yes. All revenue that will be generated from sales on the EGS will be donated to charity. The first in line is the Gamers Outreach charity. Their aim is to empower hospitalized children through video games. The donations might rotate between several gaming-related charities in the future (if you have ideas, let me know). For now, I’m sticking with this one for a while. Their mission speaks to me for personal reasons and I’m honored to contribute to their cause on an ongoing basis.

Q: Are you getting paid for the free week period?

A: Yes. The Epic Game Store offered me a one-time payment for the free week period. The free week will likely result in a dip in sales on other storefronts, so the payment is meant to offset these losses. The offer I received was more than generous, so it will also help partly fund my second game, on which I’ve been working every waking hour for the past 6 months. The second game has 10 times the scope of DARQ, so every penny helps bring it to life. It’s not a little indie game this time. It’s an ambitious project of the AA-scale with a large team behind it (including some AAA veterans). This project excites me to my core and I can’t wait to finally announce it (very soon, promise!).

Q: How do you feel about DARQ being listed on the EGS?

A: Knowing that DARQ will reach a new audience is incredibly exciting. Hopefully, the game will find its way to more people than ever, given its free-week period. This makes me super happy.

That’s pretty much it! Stay tuned for the announcement of my second game, as well as the release of DARQ Comic Book (it’s coming out later this year). In the meantime, if you haven’t played DARQ yet, consider picking it up for free on the EGS between Oct. 28th and Nov. 3rd.

If you have questions I haven’t answered, reach out to me on Twitter at UnfoldGames. You have my word I’ll get back to you.

--

--

Unfold Games

Game Developer — creator of “DARQ” — #42 Most Shared Video Game of 2019 according to Metacritic, featured in IGN, Forbes, Kotaku, GameSpot, PC Gamer.