Children in Mindanao share their ambitions

UNICEF Philippines
5 min readSep 16, 2016

--

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

In celebration of Peace Month in the Philippines, we asked children in Mindanao — many of them wearing their traditional dress — to share something about their culture, their communities, and their ambitions.

©UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Johari Kasim, 14, lives in Parang, Maguindanao. As a young devout Muslim, Johari prays every day. “Sambayang or the Muslim prayer brings us closer to Allah,” he said.

“I want to be an Ustadz (teacher) when I grow up,” Johari said. “I want to spread the message of peace and love of Islam.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Cristill Requirme, 6, is a member of the Kaagan ethnic group, and lives in Mati, Davao Oriental. She likes going to school and wants to be a policewoman. “I like the uniform of the police,” she said. “I want to work to help my mother too.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Al-Hanafe Sabang, 6, enjoys playing with his friends, and wants to work with them in the future. “When I grow up I want to become an engineer,” he said. “I want to construct buildings in Barangay Bobon, our community, and hire my fellow Kaagan classmates to work with me.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

“Muslims are respectful to the elders and we are loving to Allah,” 14-year-old Sittie Nhormaina Ibrahim said. “This is what my parents taught me to be while I was growing up.”

Sittie wants to be a nurse someday. “I want to be of help to the needy, to the sick, regardless of beliefs or religion,” she said.

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Reyan Paul Cruz, 15, makes sure that visitors to his family’s home in Lambayong, Sultan Kudarat, are treated well. “Ilocanos are also known for being hospitable,” he said. “That’s what I like the most about our group.”

Reyan wants to be a lawyer to help children in need. “I want to be a champion of children’s rights,” he said.

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Princess Zamaleeyah Abad, 4, lives in Parang, Maguindanao with her Iranun family. The Iranun are an ethnic group native to the Mindanao region in the Philippines. “When I grow up, I want to be a doctor because I want to treat my sick father,” she said.

But for now, she just wants to play. “With lots of toys,” she said. “I want more food, too!”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Ayesha Reign Vicente, 6, likes wearing the hijab (head covering). “Hijab looks good on girls,” the young Kaagan said.

Ayesha wants to become a flight attendant when she grows up. “I want to travel,” she said.

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

“Every Blaan kid should be proud of their group,” 9-year-old Obed Pandato said. The Blaan are indigenous people in Southern Mindanao, Philippines.

“When I finish my education, I want to become a teacher,” Obed said. “I want to teach Blaan kids how to read. I want to teach them how to plant crops so that food will always be available.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

“I like that Ilocanos are labelled as frugal,” 16-year-old Ruth Maureen Tequero from Lambayong, Sultan Kudarat, said. “This is actually true. This trait helps us save for more important things in the future.”

Ruth wants to help children when she grows up. “I want to help kids who do hard work in farms as laborers and can’t afford to go to school,” she said.

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Jasmine Rose Bacale, 11, from Sarangani Province is determined to finish school. “I want to be the next Blaan to finish school and help other children in my group,” she said.

Jasmine also wants to work as a flight attendant. “I want to travel to China and the rest of the world.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Jay-ar Gilingan, 11, is an Iranun who lives with his family in Parang, Maguindanao. “I like how my parents teach us to pray five times a day,” he shares. “It brings us closer to Allah.”

Jay-ar wants to be a policeman when he grows up. “I want to help bring peace to the community.”

© UNICEF Philippines/2016/Louie Pacardo

Shamcey Alagos, 4, loves wearing the traditional Kaagan dress. “My mother lets us wear different dresses for school and at home,” she said.

Shamcey wants to be a teacher when she grows up. “I want to teach young Kaagan children,” she said.

UNICEF works in Mindanao to ensure that disadvantaged and vulnerable children, especially those in areas affected by armed conflict, are able to enjoy their rights.

Conflict affects all aspects of a child’s development, including their health, well-being, growth, access to education and ability to play. UNICEF supports children and adolescents in Mindanao so that their voices are heard, and that they are able to contribute to peacebuilding in their communities.

To learn more about UNICEF’s work in the Philippines, visit www.unicef.ph.

--

--

UNICEF Philippines

UNICEF promotes the rights and wellbeing of every child in 190 countries and territories, with a special focus on reaching those in greatest need.