Trip to Hualien- Sea Kayaking experience

--

So finally, after a long time of thinking about it, I decided to start my trip to Asia and Taiwan was my first destination, I was going to arrive to Taipei(capital of Taiwan) by the time I was landing from the airplane I could see the mountainous terrain that surrounded the city which immediately excited me, since I’m a person who is more into nature I was curious about the experience I was going to live.

I spent 1 week discovering Taipei, the temples, museums, zoo(to see pandas), etc. I liked them very much however I was looking for an adventure and of course the beach, so decided to buy a train ticket to Hualien. Hualien County is a county on the east coast of Taiwan with mountainous terrain. Taroko Gorge, Qingshui Cliff and Qixingtan Beach are examples of natural environments that attract many visitors.

Taipei (Photo Credit: Alex Lin)

So after almost 3 hours I arrived to Hualien from Taipei Main Station, met some cool locals and foreigners guys who began teaching me about the culture, customs and traditions. The next day I had my very first experience with kayaking. It’s said that kayaks were created thousands of years ago by the Inuit, formerly known as Eskimos, of the northern arctic regions. The main purpose for creating the kayak, which literally translates to “hunter’s boat” was for hunting and fishing, but now are mostly used as a sport or hobby.

Sunset

The first thing I noted and amazed me was the turquoise color of the water even when the weather was cloudy I could appreciate it. I must admit that after rowing for a while , I was a bit exhausted but I tried to conceal it, my last time kayaking was long time ago so I also felt a bit dizzy. I saw 2 persons puking while I was rowing, lucky me I didn’t eat before the trip.

Tired of paddling

There are some basic tips I would like to share for your first kayaking experience.

  1. Be aware of weather conditions and water temperature.
  2. Beware of off-shore winds that make it difficult to return to shore.
  3. Always follow the boating rules of the area you’re in.
  4. Never mix alcohol or drugs (prescription or non-prescription) with boating.
  5. Never exceed the weight capacity of your boat and always check your equipment for wear and tear before you paddle.
  6. Paddling in the surf zone or in rivers can be dangerous. Always wear a helmet.
  7. Stay hydrated. Always bring plenty of water.
  8. Most importantly, WEAR YOUR PERSONAL FLOATATION DEVICE. Wearing your lifejacket will help keep your head above water and add insulation to your body, keeping you warmer in cold water.
Following the boating rules

So, what are you waiting for? Let’s go! Click here to sign up!

Uniquefun contact method 相關資訊-
Facebook:
www.facebook.com/uniquefuntw/
Uniquefun:
www.uniquefuntw.com
Line@ :
@ndn7492h
Email : info@uniquefuntw.com

--

--

Uniquefun 由你玩 體驗旅遊

An outdoor travel company in Hualien, east coast of Taiwan. We provide SUP, kayaking, and motorbiking at secret & beautiful spots. Uniquely fun only for you.