Discover the artists: Florent Hauchard — #1

Unirexcity Adventures
3 min readSep 16, 2021

--

This article is the first in a series called “ Discover the artists ” to highlight the talented artists working on the project in their respective fields of predilection.

For the first volume, we gonna introduce you to our illustrator (2D): Florent Hauchard.

Florent is probably one of the most talented artist that we know. When we decided to launch Unirexcity, working with him was an evidence. He has more than 10 years of experience in the domain of illustration and worked for many well known companies. He is recognized for the quality of his work and his professionalism in the artistic creative field.

In 2019, he co-founded YOKO with his brother (Squeezie, a french Youtuber): a clothing brand with original designs inspired by japanese culture.

His creation process is quite unique and meticulous.

1) Writing down the main ideas and behavior that the character could have on a blank paper.

2) Listening to music that fit to the character the Unirexcity theme. I was listening italian rap songs, so you can expect some colorful outfit and few golden rings and chains. Then I sketch up to 5 times my characters until I feel entirely satisfy.

3) Regarding colors to be honest I have a strong preference for bright /pop colors. I love those cause they bring light and happiness everytime I look at them.

I work 90% of my time on Procreate with my IPad Pro, I like the fact that I can work everywhere. I just love to link and adapt things I see outside and apply it to my work.

On Unirexcity Adventures project, the first step was to find a good identity with a good looking face expression for the Unirexes.

We wanted them to be chill and friendly but at the same time some of them are real thugs. Streetwear culture was a true inspiration. Here are few sketches in Florent’s creative process.

We’ve got many discussions in the team to find what was really matching the identity of the Unirexes. After many iterations and taking the feedback in consideration, one version was kept and this is the one you currently knows.

The next step for Florent (and not a small one) was to design all the attributes that the Unirexes will wear.

First, all attributes have been drawn according to a list decided with the team, with really special ones that you’ll discover later (stay tuned for this).

In a second time he filled the attributes with colors and shadows to make easier as possible the work for our 3D artist that you’ll discover in a next article.

Feel free to ask us any question if you want us to specify some points of the illustration creation process on Twitter.

Don’t forget to join us on all our networks:

--

--