North Dakota Concealed Carry Gun Permit Laws [And How to Get Your CCW License Online]

North Dakota Concealed Carry Gun Permit Laws

Tyson
22 min read6 days ago

Legal information provided is for reference and not legal advice. Consult an attorney for specific legal concerns.

Summary of North Dakota Gun Laws

NORTH DAKOTA CONCEALED CARRY LAWS

North Dakota operates as a shall-issue state for concealed carry licenses, where the attorney general oversees issuance, with some discretion for law enforcement to deny based on perceived risks.

Permits, firearms registration, or background checks aren’t required for purchasing handguns privately.

Open carry of handguns is legal for residents with a Concealed Weapon License (CWL) and non-residents with a valid resident concealed carry license from a recognized state. Minimum age for carry is 18, with some areas such as bars off-limits.

CONCEALED CARRY DEFINITION

In North Dakota, concealed carry is defined as carrying a weapon in a manner not discernible by ordinary observation. Permitless concealed carry is allowed for both residents and non-residents as of August 1st, 2023. Individuals must carry a driver’s license or state ID and inform law enforcement of firearm possession during any in-person contact.

CLASSES OF CWLS

North Dakota issues Class 1 and Class 2 CWLs. Class 1 permits have broader reciprocity due to additional testing requirements. Both licenses require completion of a state-certified firearms training course.

RECIPROCITY ISSUES

There’s ongoing clarification regarding permit reciprocity. As of August 1, 2021, North Dakota recognizes permits from states it honors. However, nuances exist regarding non-resident permits, with ongoing updates influencing reciprocity.

USE OF FORCE LAWS

North Dakota allows force to prevent unlawful entry, property damage, or theft. Individuals using force justifiably are immune from civil liability for injuries or deaths caused to intruders.

SELF-DEFENSE LAWS

Under North Dakota law, individuals may use force against imminent bodily harm, sexual assault, or unlawful detention. The state supports a Stand Your Ground law, effective August 1, 2021, removing the duty to retreat in places one legally occupies.

DEADLY FORCE

Deadly force is justified to prevent death, serious injury, or violent felonies against oneself or others. Individuals must avoid using excessive force and attempt retreat unless safety is jeopardized.

North Dakota upholds laws that protect individuals’ rights to self-defense and secure living environments.

North Dakota Gun Laws at a Glance

North Dakota Concealed Carry FAQs

Permitless Carry?

  • Does North Dakota allow permitless carry? Yes, on April 12, 2023, Governor Doug Burgum signed HB 1339, allowing both residents and non-residents the ability to concealed carry under North Dakota’s permitless carry laws. It will also remove the 30-day requirement for IDs.

Open Carry Permitted?

  • Is open carry permitted in North Dakota? Yes, with a ND concealed weapon license or a resident permit from a state that ND recognizes. In addition, any person to carry an unloaded handgun.

Gun Permit Licensure?

  • If North Dakota requires a license to carry a concealed firearm, how are those licenses issued? North Dakota is a shall-issue state.

Minimum Age for Concealed Carry?

  • What is the minimum age in North Dakota to get a concealed carry license? You must be at least 18 years old to concealed carry in North Dakota.

Weapons Other Than Handguns Allowed?

  • Can you concealed carry weapons other than handguns in North Dakota with a concealed carry license (or under permitless carry if applicable)? Yes. Under North Dakota law, “dangerous weapon” includes any switchblade or gravity knife, machete, scimitar, stiletto, sword, dagger, or any knife with a blade 5 inches or longer.

Tasers or Stun Guns?

  • Is it legal to own a taser or stun gun in North Dakota? Yes, stun guns are exempt from the definition of “dangerous weapons” and are legal to purchase and possess without a license.

Chemical Spray/Pepper Spray?

  • Is it legal to buy or use chemical spray/pepper spray in North Dakota? Yes, defensive sprays are exempt from the definition of “dangerous weapons” and therefore you do not need a concealed weapon license to carry those items concealed within North Dakota.

Magazine Limits for Handguns?

  • Does North Dakota have magazine capacity restrictions for handguns? No, North Dakota imposes no limit on maximum handgun magazine capacity.

Ammunition Restrictions?

Does North Dakota have ammunition restrictions? No, there are no restricted handgun ammo types in North Dakota.

Carry Locations

CARRY IN STATE/NATIONAL PARKS, STATE/NATIONAL FORESTS AND WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS (WMAS)?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in state/national parks, state/national forests and Wildlife Management Areas in North Dakota? Yes, under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.

CARRY IN BARS/RESTAURANTS THAT SERVE ALCOHOL?

Can you carry a concealed firearm in bars and restaurants that serve alcohol in North Dakota? You can concealed carry in the restaurant area of an eatery that serves alcohol under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes, unless posted. However, concealed carry is not allowed in bars or the bar areas of restaurants.

CARRY/POSSESS AT A HOTEL?

Can you carry or possess a firearm on hotel property in North Dakota? North Dakota statutes don’t specifically address firearms at hotels. Please note that each hotel develops their own policies and the individual hotel should be contacted to inquire about its concealed carry policy.

STORE IN A VEHICLE IN AN EMPLOYEE PARKING LOT?

Does North Dakota have laws relating to storing firearms in private vehicles in an employee parking lot? A public or private employer may not prohibit any customer, employee or invitee from possessing any legally owned firearm, if the firearm is lawfully possessed and locked inside or locked to a private motor vehicle in a parking lot and if the customer, employee or invitee is lawfully in the area. Some parking areas are prohibited including school property, correctional facilities and institutions and businesses involved with homeland security or national defense, among others.

CARRY AT ROADSIDE REST AREAS?

Can you carry a concealed firearm at roadside rest areas in North Dakota? Yes, under permitless concealed carry for residents and for non-residents with a resident permit from states that North Dakota recognizes.

CARRY IN VEHICLE?

Can you carry a concealed handgun in a vehicle in North Dakota? Yes, for an individual who is not otherwise precluded from possessing a class 2 firearm and dangerous weapon license under chapter 62.1–04 and who has been a resident for at least 30 days with a valid driver’s license or State ID. Non-residents must have a resident concealed carry permit from a state that ND honors. If the firearm is not loaded, a person may carry or possess it in a motor vehicle, concealed or unconcealed, even without a license.

Key State Laws

PUBLIC ACCESS TO CONCEALED CARRY REGISTRY?

  • Does North Dakota allow the public to access concealed carry registry information through public records law? No, however the information is available to the courts.

Duty to Inform Officer You’re Carrying?

  • Do you have a duty to inform a police officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm in North Dakota? Yes/No. There is no duty to inform a law enforcement officer that you’re carrying a concealed firearm for anyone with a concealed carry license. Yes, for ND residents carrying without a license.

Preemption?

  • Does North Dakota have preemption laws related to concealed carry (i.e. Does state law supersede local laws regarding the possession of handguns)? Yes, the state has preemption of firearms laws relating to the purchase, sale, ownership, possession, transfer of ownership, registration, or licensure of firearms and ammunition in North Dakota. Based on the passage of HB 1248 on April 27, 2021, all such existing municipal ordinances are void and an individual may bring a civil action against a political subdivision for damages as a result of an unlawful ordinance.

DRIVER’S LICENSE LINKED TO Carry License?

  • Is my North Dakota driver’s license linked to my North Dakota carry license? No. Your North Dakota driver’s license is not linked to your North Dakota concealed weapon license. Therefore, a law enforcement officer (LEO) will not be notified that you are a concealed carry license holder immediately when they run your driver’s license. However, LEOs may have access to other databases where they can obtain this information.

“No Weapons Allowed” Signs Enforced?

  • Are “No Weapons Allowed” signs enforced in North Dakota? No. North Dakota does not recognize “No Weapons Allowed” signs.

Red Flag Law?

  • Does North Dakota have a red flag law? North Dakota does not have a red flag law.

NON-RESIDENT PERMITTING?

  • Does North Dakota issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents? Yes, for those that have a concealed carry permit from their home state, which must have reciprocity with North Dakota. The process is the same as for residents.

Brandishing?

  • Does North Dakota state law define brandishing? Based on the passage of HB 1498, as of August 1, 2021, an individual may brandish a dangerous weapon while on property owned or leased by the individual. An individual is guilty of disorderly conduct if, with intent to harass, annoy or alarm another person or in reckless disregard of the fact that another person is harassed, annoyed or alarmed by the individual’s behavior, the individual engages in fighting, or in violent, tumultuous or threatening behavior; or creates a hazardous, physically offensive or seriously alarming condition by any act that serves no legitimate purpose; or engages in harassing conduct by means of intrusive or unwanted acts, words or gestures that are intended to adversely affect the safety, security or privacy of another person. A person is guilty of menacing if he knowingly places or attempts to place another human being in fear by menacing him with imminent serious bodily injury.

Carry While Using Alcohol or Drugs?

  • Does North Dakota have laws regarding carrying a concealed firearm while using alcohol or drugs? Although in the Game, Fish & Predators section of the ND Century Code, no person may be afield at any time, with a gun or other firearm while intoxicated or under the influence of alcoholic beverages or drugs. As a responsibly armed American, regardless of the laws in your state, it is unwise to carry while under the influence of any substance that could impair your judgement, slow your reaction times, or impact your decision-making abilities. Any decision you make while carrying a firearm could have life-altering consequences.

Handgun Purchase & Possession

PURCHASE PERMITS?

Is a permit required to purchase a handgun in North Dakota? No. A special permit is not required for buying a handgun in North Dakota.

BACKGROUND CHECKS FOR PRIVATE GUN SALES?

Are background checks required for private gun sales in North Dakota? No. Private firearms transfers are not subject to a background check requirement, although federal and state purchaser prohibitions, including age restrictions, still apply. It is recommended that you retain any sales receipts to prove ownership of the gun.

NORTH DAKOTA LICENSE EXEMPTS FROM BACKGROUND CHECK?

Does my current North Dakota concealed carry license exempt me from needing a background check when I purchase a firearm? Yes.

WAITING PERIOD?

Is there a waiting period after purchasing a handgun in North Dakota? No. North Dakota does not have a waiting period for handgun purchases.

HANDGUN REGISTRATION?

Do handguns need to be registered in North Dakota? No. Handguns do not need to be registered in North Dakota.

MINIMUM AGE TO POSSESS AND TRANSPORT?

What is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in North Dakota? 18 years old is the minimum age to possess and transport a handgun in North Dakota. A person under the age of 18 may only possess a handgun while under the direct supervision of an adult for purposes of firearm safety training, target shooting, or hunting.

POSSESS A HANDGUN ON MY PRIVATE PROPERTY WITHOUT A LICENSE?

Can I possess/carry a handgun in my home without a license? Yes. A concealed carry license is not required for anyone legally entitled to carry a firearm to carry a handgun on the person’s land, or in that individual’s permanent or temporary residence, or fixed place of business.

North Dakota Concealed Carry Reciprocity With Other States

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Alaska (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

California (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Colorado (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Connecticut (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Delaware (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

District of Columbia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Florida (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Georgia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Hawaii (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Illinois (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Iowa (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Kansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Louisiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Maine (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Maryland (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Massachusetts (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Michigan (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Minnesota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Missouri (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nebraska (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nevada (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

New Jersey (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

New Mexico (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

New York (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

New York City (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

North Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Ohio (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Oregon (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Pennsylvania (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Puerto Rico (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Rhode Island (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Texas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Utah (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Virginia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Washington (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Wisconsin (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

There is currently some confusion about ND reciprocity. The ND Attorney General’s website indicates that in accordance with N.D.C.C. § 62.1–04–03.1, North Dakota will honor a valid concealed carry license/permit (resident and non-resident) issued by a state that has agreed to recognize a North Dakota license. However, HB 1293 (which took effect on August 1, 2021) included the following language, “an individual may carry a firearm concealed under this chapter if the individual qualifies for reciprocity under section 62.1–04–03.1 and the individual has the equivalent of a class 2 firearm and dangerous weapon license from the state in which the individual is a resident.”

Therefore, the USCCA map shows the more conservative version until this issue is resolved.

Other States’ Reciprocity With North Dakota

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 19 years old)

Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Delaware

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nevada

New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

North Carolina

South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

North Dakota residents can carry a concealed defensive firearm in the state of Oklahoma without any type of license. You must carry your driver’s license or state issued ID when carrying your firearm in Oklahoma.

Note: Firearms must be carried in accordance with the laws of the state you are visiting. Be sure to check the laws of the other state before traveling there with your firearms.

States That Have Restricted Reciprocity with North Dakota

Alaska (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Colorado (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)

Florida (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Georgia (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Iowa (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Louisiana (Class 1 permits only)

Maine (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Michigan (at least 21 years old and resident permits only)

Minnesota (Class 1 permits only)

Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Missouri (permitless carry, at least 19 years old 18 for military)

Nebraska (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

New Mexico (Class 1 permits only)

Ohio (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Pennsylvania (Class 1 permits only and at least 21 years old and resident permits only)

South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Texas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Utah (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Virginia (Class 1 permits only )

Washington (Class 1 permits only)

West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Wisconsin (Class 1 permits only )

Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Permitless Carry States

Alabama (permitless carry, at least 19 years old)

Alaska (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arizona (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Arkansas (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Florida (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Georgia (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Idaho (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Indiana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Iowa (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kansas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Kentucky (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Maine (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Mississippi (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Missouri (permitless carry, at least 19 years old 18 for military)

Montana (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Nebraska (Permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

New Hampshire (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Ohio (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Oklahoma (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

South Carolina (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

South Dakota (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Tennessee (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

Texas (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Utah (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Vermont (permitless carry, at least 18 years old)

West Virginia (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

Wyoming (permitless carry, at least 21 years old)

*PC-18 = permitless carry if at least 18 years old

*PC-21 = permitless carry if at least 21 years old

Permitless carry includes constitutional carry states as well as states where an individual must meet certain qualifications, e.g., no DUIs in the last 10 years, in order to legally carry (Tennessee). Each state determines the requirements and any limitations on the carry of firearms. Check each state’s page for more information and any restrictions that may apply.

North Dakota Concealed Carry License Information

Requirements:

An applicant must

  • Be at least age 18 for a Class 2 license; age 21 for a Class 1 license;
  • Be a resident of North Dakota; OR on full-time active military duty stationed in ND; OR a resident of a state that has reciprocity with North Dakota and who possesses a valid concealed weapon license in their home state;
  • Have successfully completed the training requirements;
  • Not be an individual specified in section 62.1–02–01 and for a class 1 firearm license the applicant must:
  • Not have been convicted of a felony;
  • Not have been convicted of a crime of violence;
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving the use of alcohol within 3 years prior to the date of application;
  • Not have been convicted of a misdemeanor offense involving the unlawful use of narcotics or other controlled substances within 10 years prior to the date of application;
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving moral turpitude;
  • Not have been convicted of an offense involving domestic violence;
  • Not have been adjudicated by a state or federal court as mentally incompetent, unless the adjudication has been withdrawn or reversed;
  • Be qualified to purchase and possess a firearm under federal law; and
  • Satisfactorily complete the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI) application form and successfully pass the criminal history records check conducted by the BCI and FBI. This includes information on any court-ordered treatment or commitment for mental health, alcohol or substance abuse. The applicant shall provide the director of the BCI written authorizations for disclosure of the applicant’s mental health and alcohol or substance abuse evaluation and treatment records. The bureau may deny approval for a license if the bureau has reasonable cause to believe that the applicant or licensee has been or is a danger to self or others as demonstrated by evidence, including past pattern of behavior involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence; past participation in incidents involving unlawful violence or threats of unlawful violence; or conviction of a weapons offense. In determining whether the applicant or licensee has been or is a danger to self or others, the bureau may inspect expunged or sealed records of arrests and convictions of adults and juvenile court records.

Consult with an attorney if you have any questions about your eligibility. If you don’t have an attorney, you can find one by contacting the State Bar of North Dakota.

Residency Changes:

Moving to North Dakota and interested in applying for a resident license? How soon can you apply?
North Dakota issues licenses to residents, full-time active military duty stationed in the state and to concealed carry permit holders of states which have reciprocity with North Dakota. You can apply for your license at any time. In order to apply for a resident license, you may need to provide a North Dakota driver’s license or state ID.

Moving from North Dakota and have a North Dakota resident license? Does that license transfer to your new state? Is there a grace period during which your North Dakota license remains valid?
If a person with a North Dakota concealed weapon license establishes residency in another state, the license is valid until it expires provided the individual notifies the BCI of a change of address.

Fees:

Initial licenses and renewals: $60

Valid For:

5 years

Processing Time:

60 days

Application:

Online Concealed Weapons Application
Concealed Weapons License Manual
Link to application

Class 1/Class 2 Licenses

Class 1/Class 2 Licenses
The only difference between a Class 1 license and a Class 2 license is reciprocity. Both licenses are equally valid within North Dakota, but because of additional testing requirements, the holders of a Class 1 license have reciprocity in many more states than those who hold a Class 2 license.

Note: An individual who has a valid Class 2 license may apply to upgrade to a Class 1 license within 5 years from the date the Class 2 license was issued, by completing the additional testing requirements of a Class 1 license and submitting an application form along with the $60 application fee and required documents.

Non-Resident Concealed Carry licenses:

North Dakota issues licenses to full-time active military duty stationed in ND and residents of states which have reciprocity with North Dakota, provided the individual possesses a valid concealed carry permit from that state. However, all testing must take place within the state of ND and cannot be held in conjunction with testing for any other state. The application must be submitted to the BCI within 30 days of the testing date.

Name/Address Changes:

By law, you must notify the BCI of a change of address. Mail a letter with your full legal name, date of birth, old address and new address, and the effective date of the new address to:
BCI CWL — ADDRESS CHANGE
PO Box 1054
Bismarck, ND 58502

For security reasons, the BCI can only accept a change of address notification received by mail.

If you would like a replacement license with your new address, you must send in the old license with your address change letter. If you do not send in the old license, the BCI will not issue an updated license. You are not required to get an updated license — your license is still valid even if it has your old address. If you send in your license to have it updated, you cannot carry concealed until you receive the updated license. Please allow 2–3 weeks for the updated license to be issued.

Lost/Stolen licenses:

You may request a free replacement from the BCI. Simply send a written request to the BCI and include your full name, current address, date of birth and the reason you need a replacement license.

North Dakota Concealed Carry License Application Process

Step 1:

All new applicants must complete the required training before submitting an application. Contact a test administrator to schedule your training and testing. Check with the test administrator before completing the application — many test administrators provide a computer and printer at the training site for this purpose.

Step 2:

Decide if you want a Class 1 or Class 2 license.

  • Complete the ONLINE APPLICATION You will need a printer. The last step of the online application process generates a form that you are required to print; OR
  • Download the application, complete it and print out a copy to mail in; OR
  • Complete it at the testing site, if available.

Step 3:

Make an appointment with a test administrator and take a copy of the printed application to the testing appointment. The test administrator may charge up to $50 (plus range fees, if applicable). All first-time applicants must pass a written, open-book test based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual.

All testing must take place within the state of North Dakota and cannot be held in conjunction with testing for any other state. The application must be submitted to the BCI within 30 days of the testing date.

Step 4:

Applicants for a Class 1 license will also need to complete classroom instruction, demonstrate familiarity with the weapon, and successfully complete a firearms proficiency shooting test.

Step 5:

Gather the following required documents and submit them to the Bureau of Criminal Inspection (BCI) within 30 days of the testing date (Applications submitted more than 30 days after the testing date are invalid and cannot be processed):

  • Cashiers check or money order for $60 payable to “North Dakota Attorney General”;
  • Photocopy of a driver’s license or state ID;
  • Two official color passport photos; and
  • Two fingerprint cards (for new applicants).

Non-residents must include a copy of a valid concealed carry license from your home state of residence. (You are a resident of whichever state issued your driver’s license.) If your state does not have reciprocity with ND, you are not eligible for a ND license.

Non-resident active duty military must include a copy of your PCS orders to ND.

Applicants born outside of the U.S. must be a legal resident of the US. If you were born outside the U.S. or its territories, attach a copy of your US-issued Born Abroad birth certificate OR the Alien Registration/INS Registration documentation OR a Naturalization certificate OR a valid US Passport.

Mail the completed application and all required documents to: BCI-CWL P.O. Box 1054 Bismarck ND 58502

The BCI does not accept applications submitted by fax, email or hand delivery.

Step 6:

You will be notified if your application has been approved.

North Dakota Concealed Carry License Renewal Process

Step 1:

Renewals are the responsibility of the licensee. The BCI will send a renewal reminder to the last address we have on file. You may begin the renewal process up to 180 days prior to the license expiration date through the expiration date. A renewal application must be postmarked on or before the license expiration date. Late or incomplete applications cannot be processed. If your license has expired, it is not a valid license and cannot be renewed. You will have to start over as a new applicant. IF YOUR LICENSE HAS EXPIRED, DO NOT CARRY CONCEALED!

Step 2:

Review the requirements. To renew a Class 1 license, you will need to complete the full testing process, just as you did for your initial license. You can “downgrade” to a class 2 license and avoid having to retest by indicating on the application that you would like a class 2 license. You do not have to retest to renew a class 2 license. To “upgrade” an expiring Class 2 license to a Class 1 license, you must complete the application process for a Class 1 license including the required testing, documents and fees.

Step 3:

Make an appointment with a test administrator and take a copy of the printed application to the testing appointment. All first-time applicants must pass a written, open-book test based on the Concealed Weapon License Manual.

Step 4:

Applicants for a Class 1 license will also need to complete classroom instruction, demonstrate familiarity with the weapon, and successfully complete a firearms proficiency shooting test.

Step 5:

Complete the Online Application or print a blank application to complete and submit to the BCI. Be aware that it takes the BCI longer to process these handwritten applications, which may result in a delay issuing your license. Therefore, the BCI encourages you to complete the Online Application if at all possible.

Step 6:

You will be notified if your application has been approved.

FAQ: North Dakota Concealed Carry Questions

WEAR A COVID MASK & CARRY?

I can legally carry a concealed firearm in North Dakota, but can I wear a COVID 19 protective mask while carrying concealed?

There is no known statute in North Dakota making it illegal to wear a COVID mask while carrying concealed. A state statute was identified that refers to individuals concealing their identity with the intention to commit illegal acts or with intent to intimidate, however they do not address wearing a mask while legally carrying a concealed firearm.

[NDCC § 12.1–31–15(1)]

CARRY WHILE GUN HUNTING?

Can you concealed carry while shotgun/rifle hunting in North Dakota?

Yes.

CARRY WHILE BOW HUNTING?

Can you concealed carry while bow hunting in North Dakota?

Yes, but only if you are going to fill your gun license. No firearms, except handguns, may be in the hunter’s possession while hunting with a deer bow license. A handgun may not be used in any manner to assist in the harvest of a deer with an archery license.

[ND Game & Fish FAQ]

HUNTER HARASSMENT LAW?

Is there a Hunter Harassment Law in North Dakota?

Yes. An individual may not intentionally interfere with the lawful taking of wildlife on public or private land by another or intentionally harass, drive, or disturb any wildlife on public or private land for the purpose of disrupting a lawful hunt.

[N.D. Cent. Code § 20.1–01–31]

WHAT ARE THE KNIFE LAWS IN NORTH DAKOTA?

It is legal to own any type of knife in North Dakota. It is legal to open carry any type of knife. It is legal to conceal carry dangerous weapons with a concealed carry license. Permitless carry does not extend to knives. Dangerous weapons include any switchblade or gravity knife, machete, scimitar, stiletto, sword, dagger or any knife with a blade 5 inches or longer. A dangerous weapon is considered to be concealed if it is worn on the body or kept in a vehicle where it is within reach of the carrier and is not discernible as a weapon by ordinary observation. It is not considered to be concealed if it is locked in a trunk or luggage compartment of a vehicle, carried in a holster or case where it is wholly or substantially visible, or carried in any manner while lawfully hunting, trapping or target shooting.

Possession of firearms and dangerous weapons is prohibited at certain public events and gatherings, as well as schools and school functions. North Dakota municipalities, such as Bismark, Fargo and Grand Forks, may have additional restrictions.

[NDCC §§ 62.1–01–01, 62.1–02–04, 62.1–02–05, 62.1–04–01 & 62.1–04–02]

--

--