Reviewing: Rewriting the Future of Work with Adam Grant

Unpopularcounselor
4 min readJun 9, 2022

--

It was a pleasure to attend Adam Grant’s “Rewriting the Future of Work” webinar. I was excited to see an invite from Grammarly Business. I don’t have a business, but I write enough that Grammarly Premium thought I did. So, they sent me an email about the webinar weeks ago. I was stunned and in awe at the same time. I was stunned because I didn’t expect my writing to get that level of recognition. I am not the biggest fan of Artificial Intelligence. Yet, I became a fan of the way Grammarly uses it. I was in awe as Artificial Intelligence’s algorithm acknowledged me in the Grammarly Business silo.

On my way to work yesterday and back, I listened to two of Grant’s TED talks. I was curious how he might lay out today’s webinar. Hearing about them applying to the current world setting we are in; made me think inwards about the direction, my freelance writing is heading towards. With the information I obtained from the TED talks, I was eager to hear his take on Rewriting the Future of Work. While not everyone may be interested in learning anything with the word “work” in it, this webinar acknowledges how important the mindset of a business can influence employees.

Whether it is an employer, employee, or customer, I always encourage learning about new possibilities to grow from within. If people lived the dream as much as they say, while unfortunately unhappy with their occupations, the work climates wouldn’t be much of an issue.

As an “original” to what Grant describes in one of his TED talks, I am fortunate to acknowledge how collaboration is essential for any “one” person team to advance past one mind frame. I learned this concept in September while starting to write a blog that isn’t far off from the experiences people endure at some point in their lives. My attention sparked to this webinar within Grammarly Business’s email informing me; that Grant was an organizational psychologist. I have a masters in counselor education.

Amped to attend this webinar, I worked to the extent of doing a two-person job, just under five hours, to attend the webinar started. There was no time to eat breakfast. I shaved, showered, and uploaded documents to Staples for same-day printing before 10:50 am Eastern Time. Getting back to the time crunch before 11 am EST, I discovered the webinar was at 11 am Pacific Time. That meant I had to wait two more hours before the webinar began. I took a deep breath, ate breakfast, and reflected on why it is better to be early than late. Although I misread the time of the webinar, the productivity since waking up highlighted my EAGERness; laid out by Grammarly’s most valuable values.

Getting back to the webinar, Grant portrays an excellent example of everyone capable of thinking like scientists. I saw his explanation of the scientist on top of a pyramid diagram, as the potential to grow, being exponential. I also believe assumptions are not always the best conclusion. My personal and professional education would second this notion of what a life-changing moment can offer; by learning more about congruencies with new generations in the workforce and unlearning potential misunderstandings in today’s work culture. Variety must assist previous mindsets; to thrive in any business today. As he mentioned optimal distinctiveness, this could be an entry thought for any company looking to revamp its work climate. Everyone likes to be on the same page. That is one primary reason communication can clear or clog other pathways of business success long-term. Common sense evolves among generations as expectations and boundaries can easily be blurred by mindset barriers. Delivery of important information; is as important as ordering delivered food.

Grant shares feasible options to increase sales by businesses rethinking flexibility, support, culture, etc. I am grateful he acknowledged the existence of fatigue in the workplace remotely. The pandemic crushed the word fatigue and made tomato sauce out of it. That is an on-the-fence insider for anyone who attended the webinar. His talk about languishing is worth checking out on YouTube if you don’t have access to the webinar. Celebrities talk about it, yet viewers can easily overlook their previous behaviors as languishing, only applying to the Celebrity status. Grant mentions people seeing their day in a fog. I agree with this to add how feeling unsure about life directions is undefined at times. Not being able to put a word to a feeling is difficult. That is why reflecting is essential. Writing with Grammarly, and acknowledging the fog Grant first mentioned, with a twist from the panelists’ perspectives; may ideas start sooner.

While Grammarly may not fully know my writing, the webinar was worth attending in both time zones. The panelists are solid people of accountability. Global Head of People, Grammarly Erica Alioto, and Director of Trends and Thought Leadership Abbey Lunney, contributed greatly to the content and flow. Despite time interfering with answering questions, the content throughout the webinar was present. The webinar setup was a solid example for any business wanting to learn more about the webinar platform.

My girlfriend’s influence on me to try Grammarly; led me to give it a chance. Grammarly revealed its magnitude of potential growth from within; for anyone interested in furthering their communication overall. Long story short, much good has come from me using Grammarly for this post.

The case for Medium would also be of influence from my girlfriend. I was trying to figure out what my first Medium post would be about. Readers might wonder why I wrote this as my first post. I attended an extensive amount of professional development during graduate school. I enjoyed taking notes and writing personal yet professional takeaways from an honest counselor education point of view. The window of opportunity to write this particular review is small; for the unlikely variables to arise together as appeared so for yesterday’s webinar. This review would have been completed sooner; yet the obstacles within life arise daily, in hopes to stay afloat. Thank you for reading my review. I was not paid for this writing. I like taking notes and providing an honest take on an important topic. Nothing controversial; just educational. Peace.

--

--

Unpopularcounselor

Greetings 👋 Process the prequel and strive for a divine sequel. Life is worth an honest effort. MA in School Counselor Education.