Upscale Review

Unpopularcounselor
3 min readJun 12, 2022

--

This review; reflects years of business interactions between these three barbers and me. When I first moved to the Housing Projects, one of the neighbors within the parking lot cut hair for a living. Being new to the community despite already having friends from school in the neighborhood, Mike considered giving me a free haircut. If I liked it and my mother approved, he could cut my hair again. The haircut was crisper than any haircut I had prior. It was evident that he knew how to cut hair professionally.

Throughout middle school and high school, Mike continued cutting my hair. I got along well with the entire family. The rate that he charged for haircuts was more than affordable for everyone. In a way, the donations of his time and effort; contributed significantly to the community. This realization would not arise until one day, the family moved. At that time, I was a senior in high school.

With prom on the way, I needed a barber that I could rely on fast. I went to the mall, where I saw no barber shops available. Then, I remembered Upscale was also nearby. The only person there at the time; was a barber named Bam. To stylize a person’s hair to their liking is difficult. No worries, though, since his skill set showed a result, which contributed to an event that was both phenomenal and unforgettable, as I mention now. The positive correlation of a haircut to an upcoming event; pairs well with preparation to present your best self. He did a perfect job; people said I looked like James Bond. Between the shoes, suit, bowtie, black buttons I sowed on my white shirt, and haircut, he completed the vision of my highest personal expectations.

Nearing the end of high school at that time, it would be a while; before I got another haircut. By default, my hair grew. I was going through a phase in my life where I was trying to balance everything around me. I grew out my hair for two years. I was sweating profusely; I walked to work to push carts and back home with my hair down. Then one day, I said I had enough of it. I decided to donate my hair to Wigs for Kids. My sister took me to a hair salon, where they offered to assist with that process. After the ponytail was cut off, my remaining hairstyle was not my final preference. So, I went to Upscale. There I saw a barber named Leon. He was the only one there at the time. I got a number three and a taper. He informed me the hair divide would disappear in a day or two. Since then, I have been going to Leon.

Every interaction I have with these guys is positive, professional, and personal. These three barbers always strive to assist the customer’s request with an honest perspective of how they will cut their hair. To have one solid barber is luck. To have three exemplary barbers is a blessing. When it comes to getting haircuts, I know the barbers at Upscale are fully aware; of what they are doing every time. Upscale welcomes customers of all genders, backgrounds, cultures, and anyone with a particular hairstyle vision. The combination of skills focused on the individual guarantees leaving there with a cleaner look than before.

A fresh start can refresh perspectives. It is not difficult to look back on life and see how the past influences the present. Future obstacles may not seem impossible by making the path ahead appear more presentable. If you are thinking about getting a haircut, check them out. They are open every day, except for Sunday. Cash only. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Unpopularcounselor

Greetings 👋 Process the prequel and strive for a divine sequel. Life is worth an honest effort. MA in School Counselor Education.