How to Write Morning Pages Like a Colorful Introvert

Abigail Epstein
3 min readFeb 16, 2018

--

My morning pages routine after years of filling journals.

What are morning pages?

Morning pages are 3 pages of unedited, never shared, brain clearing stream of consciousness writing done as part of a morning (or evening) routine. They were invented by Julia Cameron.

I began the practice in a dark time in my life, and I never stopped.

I do, at times, go days or weeks without writing. And you know what? Looking back I always see it as a warning bell (or siren, or klaxon) for an impending hot mess-a-thon.

Why? Because the morning pages are so obnoxiously helpful. And when I’m not helping myself, who is? (Hint: not the cat.)

Here are some of the benefits of morning pages:

  • Builds up my sense of accomplishment and confidence
  • I can use up those journals I’ve been hoarding
  • Allows me to see and begin to repair the character traits that stink
  • Improved clarity

After reading an article about morning routines by Marty Uhnak, I was inspired to share my routine here. May it bring you an excuse to buy more pens.

My general morning pages routine

I get up. I make some tea.

Sometimes, I skip the tea. This is just as bad an idea as you think it is.

I get some breakfast going while I tidy up.

I settle down with my journal, a To Do list pad, and at least two different colored pens.

Then, I journal.

Probably 90% of my daily entries start with, “I’m achy and I don’t want to be journaling. Honestly there are other things I’d like to be doing. I’d get in a knife fight with Bruce Campbell for some extra sleep.”

I just ramble on. This is ok. It’s expected, it’s what the morning pages are for. They are not for reading, but for the act of writing. The pleasure of the scratch and sweep of pen on paper. The pen pal letter from you to you, it’s only for you, and only for today.

But when I catch myself saying an “I can’t…” or putting myself down, or expecting something from someone, I pause. These are what Cameron calls an inner critic. I’ve also heard them called blurts, or negative self talk, or inner blocks. These negative blurts are usually things I’ll say to myself, but would never say to a child or a friend.

Then I pick up the differently colored pen, and I reverse the negative thought I just blurted out. I turn it into an affirmation.

Morning pages take all those insidious little negative whispers and catches them on the page. As a whisper, they have power. As something now out in the light and trapped on a page they are easier to notice and judge.

When I’m done, I switch back to my main color and ramble on again.

When I think of stuff I should do later in the day, I scrawl it on my To Do pad and then go back to my journal.

Near the end of the three pages I stop rambling. I then write 3 things I’m thankful for and why they are in my life. It’s very important to tie gratitude back to action, because we are not passive lollygaggers in our own luck.

Under my gratitude, I rewrite my affirmations.

Finally, I celebrate, because it’s a good feeling to have written three pages while the world is sleeping.

So there you have it! Do you do something similar? Totally different? Let me know.

This speed writing assembled thanks to Day 7 of the 30-day Medium Power Hour challenge.

Abigail Epstein is a book addict and visual artist in the Finger Lakes region of New York. Check out her gallery and tutorials on unspookylaughter.com, or chat and see her gallery on Instagram.

--

--

Abigail Epstein

Visual artist, mental health advocate, silly soul. Join the mailing list for e-zines, coupons, and early access to available work: https://goo.gl/c4XbUI