Am I too bright?

Uri Digban
2 min readMay 21, 2024

“I can’t reduce it for you, but here’s how I can help”- Yahweh [Drabble Day 8/30]

What you’re about to read is a double-drabble (200 words) and my imagination from Exodus 34:18–23

Moses beamed with child-like joy, trotting down the dusty road, heading home from his best friend’s house, with his feet coated with dust.

He had learnt something today that would change him forever.

He stopped to marvel at the setting of the sun. He flushed with even greater joy when it struck him. It was like finally relating reality to the crammed Newton’s third law.

Earlier today, his best friend had tried to show him a funny meme on his phone, with his screen brightness on max.

It’s too bright, can you reduce it?

His friend smiled, “I’m sorry. I can’t. You’d have to wear a shade.”

Mmmmm”. They both hummed synchronously.

This response didn’t leave his mind. He was impressed with its brilliance.

Here he was, standing before the sun, and watching it do the same thing- shining unapologetically. Twenty-four seven. Till eternity.

--

--

Uri Digban

“Words cannot express how much…” At least I'll try!