It’s rude to stare

Uri Digban
2 min readMay 16, 2024

I’m sorry. I thought we vibed. [Drabble day 3/30]

Credit: Handmadepictures on iStock

What you’re about to read is a double drabble, so it’s 200 words long. Enjoy🥂

I make sure I can lip-read from where I am sitting.

He’s at a lonely spot in the bar and has ordered “two shots, please. Regular.”

His left hand combs through his thick beards as he scans the noisy place.

I look away before his gaze rotates to me. I count a few seconds away before I move my eyes back to the work of art.

I haven’t counted enough because he is now looking right at me. I’m not sure how, but he looks dangerously handsome.

Charming, puckered, and icy.

The bartender breaks the ice as he slides the glasses across the counter.

Vodka. Real man.

I can imagine him standing up- drinks in hand, flexing his shoulders as though he is adjusting his shirt or summoning courage, and ambling towards me. I saw you from where I was and I ….

He gulps the first shot. Oh.

--

--

Uri Digban

“Words cannot express how much…” At least I'll try!