Tak Tak TakaDakaDak

Urja Pawar
3 min readMar 16, 2019

--

There was this video from Kalki Koechlin which I loved because of the message of how everyday crime activities and the hypocrisy of Indian mind can really destroy India’s culture.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JF0_dGYeSEk

This is what we know. We discuss problems, we have Elocution/Debate competitions on these, we blame government to implement solutions on ground level and we still get fucked up! :)

I myself am not a professional in handling rape/sexual harassment incidents, but I do have this intuitive sense of how to behave in those situations. I believe this might be hard for many girls/women and may require an effort to actually handle themselves the way I am gonna tell. So I decided, instead of discussing and watching videos on these problems, lets share some personally gained wisdom.

Although, Life really has no rules.

I, like every other girl in India, have been through an incident when I was 14 yrs old. I remember being completely numb at that point of time and later regretting the fact that I could have done something about it. After a serious depression of about 6 months, with all those analysis in my mind of what should I have done and how will I handle similar situations, I wanted to try negotiation with a powerful “Womanly” confidence. I would be sharing a series of incidents that happened to me and how I handled them really well.

The rainy creepers

Class 11th: I Was getting back to home from the usual JEE Coaching and yeah, it started raining! Heavily! Instead of taking shelter somewhere, I chose to continue driving my bike and enjoy the rain. There were these three guys in a bike, following me since a while. I looked at them and they started smiling. Well, I smiled too, but with an intended message:

Yea boy, I am enjoying the rain too!

Their smile, somewhat, faded. It’s fun to tease a tough rock though, that’s where they started singing in chorus: Ek ladki bheegi bhaagi si..soti raaton m jaagi si..

I synced up with them, sang the song, enjoyed the rain, corrected their lyrics sometimes and went on.

# Where did it stop? My colony’s watchman prevented them from entering further. I did say a good bye though.

#What happened next? I never found them again. Perhaps they no longer wanted to tease me? Or I was too boring to be teased

Whatever it was, this incident gave a booster to be as cool and friendly as possible, to let them know that we are not opposing or if required, make them hear what they want to hear too.

Yea, judge me that I can’t become wonder woman in-front of 3 big guys, my life is important to me and I prefer ignoring assholes :)

Wanna read some more incidents? Here they are

--

--

Urja Pawar

ML Researcher. I write about whatever in ML/AI, explainable AI, and Statistics