You have never seen Prompt builder with Microsoft Excel for Chat GPT, Claude 3, Copilot, etc.

homee. guides
4 min readAug 9, 2024

--

Hey everyone! 👋

Today, I want to share some thoughts on using ChatGPT and the flood of its clones, shells, and empty imitations that have taken over the internet. These are just my personal opinions — I’m not trying to impose them on anyone, just sharing in case someone finds them helpful. 😊

So, I’ve noticed a lot of ads for apps, websites, and bots built on the ChatGPT platform. It’s understandable — there’s been a huge buzz around AI, and everyone wants a piece of the pie, to make a quick buck. 💸

Often, when I show my friends something I’ve created using ChatGPT, they ask me, “Which ChatGPT are you using?” This surprises me. What do you mean? ChatGPT is one. Everything else is just a third-party shell that takes your request, sends it to the original ChatGPT, and then simply returns the answer to you. Basically, they’re just middlemen.

I got curious about why people use these shell apps, and I realized that these apps can be categorized into two types:

1. Poor copies— People download them just because they haven’t figured out where and how to get the original app or visit the official website. (By the way, the official website is https://chatgpt.com/ 😉)

2. Prompt builders — This is my made-up name (or maybe they really are called that). But the idea of these apps or websites is that they help you craft a proper, high-quality prompt for ChatGPT.

I don’t want to talk about the first type, but the second one genuinely interests me. Anyone who’s used any AI models knows how important it is to ask a well-structured question, to formulate the so-called “prompt.” Even as a regular user of various AI models, I often find myself crafting a prompt and forgetting to include some important parameters.

That’s why I believe the second type of apps or websites can be really useful. 👍

But there are some “BUTs”:

1. BUT. These apps are often designed for specific niches, topics, etc. And those that offer a universal approach are often either of low quality or are too cumbersome and not user-friendly.

2. BUT. I work in a large international company and often use AI to complete work tasks. But many of you might be familiar with the situation where your company’s IT administrator blocks access to certain websites, resources, apps. In such cases, using a third-party prompt builder becomes impossible or requires a lot of effort to transfer information to your personal smartphone and back.

In reality, the time you save on solving a task is spent on setting up this interaction process. 😅

So, ideally, it’s better to always use the original tool because no middleman will give you 100% of the functionality, quality, and speed. To do this, the best choice is to learn how to build a correct prompt yourself. This is the only way to get the most out of it. Customize the solution to suit your needs, your tasks.

But how can you simplify, systematise, and structure the process of formulating a prompt? How can you develop the habit of crafting detailed tasks for the AI model? How can you simplify the process so that you don’t have to repeat the same phrases to set up the AI model’s role, mention the brand name each time, or constantly repeat specific parameters that the AI model needs to consider? In fact, a good quality prompt can be up to 200 words long. It’s quite challenging to write it from scratch every time. 😅

I’ve developed my own prompt builder based on an Excel spreadsheet where I enter the key parameters for my brand, keywords, and target audience once, and then just change the AI model’s role and specify the specific task.

Here’s how it works:

1. Step 1: Getting to know the brand. These are the key parameters that are important in my requests. Sometimes, if needed, I add a field for keywords.

2. Step 2: Target audience parameters. Again, in my case, I work with broad audiences; my brands are well-known, and my communication has a large scale. My budgets allow it. 😊 If necessary, the number of these parameters can be expanded and customized for specific tasks.

In fact, steps 1 and 2 are filled out once and are not changed unless absolutely necessary.

3. Step 3: This way, in regular work, we only need step 3, where we specify the specific task and choose a specific role for our AI model, as shown in the example.

As a result, we get a prompt like this:

Then you just copy it and paste it into ChatGPT, Copilot, Claude 3, or any other AI model.

I hope these thoughts were helpful to you. If you need my template, drop a “+” in the comments, and I’ll share the file with you.

Also, I’d love to hear your constructive thoughts in the comments. 😊

--

--