MEME FACT CHECK

“Horse: Everyone Knows What a Horse Is” — The Only True Definition Of a Horse?

Or: “koń, jaki jest, każdy widzi”. Is this the true Polish definition of the word ‘horse’? Let’s check the facts.

Urszula Lupinska
4 min readDec 14, 2023

--

Text on photo: The first Polish language dictionary (published 1746) included definitions such as: “Horse: Everyone knows what a horse is”.

The thing I want to write about today is a screenshot from the Twitter account Quite Interesting (@qikipedia).

The first Polish language dictionary (published 1746) included definitions such as:

“Horse: Everyone knows what a horse is”.

This tweet sounds hilarious and I’m not surprised that people often like and share it online. Phi, I have done so myself!

But then came the question: Is what I’m reading really true? I decided to check it out.

What did I find out?

First fact

The phrase “Koń, jaki jest, każdy widzi” actually exists.

The tweet above translated it as “Horse: Everyone knows what a horse is”, but in my opinion the more accurate version is: “A horse as it is, everyone can see”. (The other suggestion I got: “Horse: What it’s like, everyone can see”.)

--

--

Urszula Lupinska

I can't shut up about words and languages, so I write about it.