Urvi Chauhan
3 min readJul 4, 2016

Let’s Be Honest😊

A few days back I was reading a post on instagram 'Life is a bra...' by a young woman Saloni Chopra who works in Television where she talked about the need of a woman to be more open about their sexuality.
She talked about the problems society have with a girl's Bra Strap showing or shape of Bra visible from top she is wearing.

This reading took me back to one of the days of my graduation from Delhi University where I was hanging out with my friends in canteen area. Somehow, unintentionally, my Bra strap showed and the girl sitting next to me (some random girl from college) turned towards me and hid that strap underneath my T-shirt and said 'You should be careful.'
Just for a moment I did not understand how to react and surprisingly I replied 'Thank you for showing concern'

Later that day at home, I was recalling my day and this incidence hit my mind again.
I went into deep thoughts about *Was showing my bra strap should be an awkward move anyhow?*

No! Hey wait! Awkward? Not at all!
Showing up of that bra strap was very normal move for me. After all I spend huge of my amount on Lingerie. It fascinates me. The types, designs colors. I find it cool.

I or any other girl on this planet shall not be ashamed of it. It is just a piece of cloth covering my Boobs just like my trousers covers my legs. Talking about Bra, Panties, Tampons, Pads shall not be a move of shame.
Am I suppose to keep it as a secret? Or behave as these terms are unknown to me?

Like a male has a chest, we girls have breasts and like they wear vest , we wear Bra.
So how the hell am I suppose to behave like I don't wear one?

Okay! #letsbehonest doesn’t a Victoria Secrets Model walking down the ramp seems to be beautifully attractive to us?
They do! Right?
So how there is a difference between those models and we girls- next -door, come into being?
Only because they belong to different nation and they are paid for it?

*Remember* , here i am talking about women in general (world wide) *NO GEOGRAPHICAL BARRIERS NO CULTURAL VALUES*

NO I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT ROAMING AROUND, NAKED.
NEITHER I AM TALKING ABOUT TEARING THE ETHICAL AND CULTURAL VALUES OF OUR NATION (particularly)
Rather I am talking about the way we critically judge girls on how they dress and what they talk about.

Doesn’t our constitution grants the Right of Freedom of Expression to each and every citizen of our country?
What harm does showing of Bra (or Panty,in any situation) does to this country or it’s citizens?
It’s not something the male section of the society doesn’t know. Neither it’s something *Taboo* to talk about as it is considered.

In our daily lives , we girls wear it and the boys know. #Letsbehonest

There is nothing to be ashamed of or to hide. Let's start accepting our conservative views and broaden our minds and start respecting ourselves.

Let’s greet each other with same dignity and respect. Let’s accept each other and our details. Let’s treat each other right. Let’s give the needed freedom and respect to women.

I am not a feminist. I want NO over-the-top benefits for women. I want NO reservations. Nothing! Just the way we act towards them needs to be corrected.

I want that every women should feel comfortable about herself and her belongings.

A lot of men might hate my opinion. A lot of women (surprisingly) will not be okay with it
But #letsbehonest a hell lot of you might like it, support it and share it.

I just want to initiate a little change around me and who knows someday this opinion might influence a majority.

In positive hopes, I offer this to you, to understand, broaden your horizons and to support me to bring about a change.

If you like what you read above please give a Heart down there👇. Help me Spread it. Don’t forget to give your reviews in the comment slot below .

(You can DM me too on Instagram @urviiichauhan)

#letsbehonest #GenderEquality #NoFeminism

#CozEveryOpinionCounts